Skip to content

Harry Potter, the Exhibition

July 18, 2011

Guess what I did yesterday?

Wait, how’d you know? Did my title give it away? Aw nuts!

Yepsky, I went into NYC to see the Harry Potter Exhibition. It was pretty friken’ awesome. I spent over an hour looking at props and costumes from the actual movies. It was amazing!

Remember Harry’s red sweater from The Sorcerer’s Stone?

Yep, that was there.

How ’bout these clothes that Luna/Evanna wore?

 

All those clothes, along with the spectrespecs and magazines were there! So cool.

Hm, what else?

  • Xenophilius Lovegood’s suit from the wedding in DH was right next to Luna’s yellow dress
  • Mandrakes we actually got to touch
  • The notice board from the Gryffindor common room
  • All the things in Hagrid’s hut, complete one of his outfits and Norbert’s egg
  • Models of Buckbeak, Dobby, Kreacher, Fawkes, a baby thestral, an acromantula, the head of the Hungarian horntail, and a Dementor that were all used when they needed an actual, non-CG animated version
  • Harry and Ron’s dormitory beds and dressers
  • Ron’s maroon “R” sweater
  • Quidditch robes worn by Harry, Ron, Madam Hooch, Viktor Krum, and someone from the Irish team
  • The actual quaffle, bludgers, clubs, and snitch from the first movie
  • Harry’s Nimbus 2000 and Malfoy’s Nimbus 2001
  • Harry’s Howgarts acceptance letter from Sorcerer’s Stone and Ron’s howler from Chamber of Secrets
  • Horcruxes: the diary, the cup, the locket
  • Snape’s billowing, bat-like, black robes, and one each of Slughorn’s, McGonagall’s, and Lupin’s robes
  • 2 of Dumbledore’s robes and 2 of Umbridge’s horrid pink outfits
  • Umbridge’s office with all the cat plates, desk, teacup, portrait of Fudge, and the parchment with the lines – which actually look like they’re in Dan’s handwriting – of “I must not tell lies.”
  • Several Education Decrees, Death Eater “Wanted” posters, and pages from The Daily Prophet
  • 2 of Lockhart’s robes along with his portrait of himself painting a self-portrait
  • The boggart jack-in-the-box and wardrobe in which it was kept
  • The gravestone that Harry was trapped on from The Goblet of Fire
  • The actual Goblet and all four pieces of parchment with Cedric’s, Harry’s, Fleur’s, and Viktor’s names
  • Hermione’s and Cho’s dresses from the Yule ball, and Harry’s, Ron’s (poor kid!), Ced’s, and Viktor’s dress robes
  • A table full of Skiving Snackbox products and Honeyduke’s treats
  • Almost everybodys’ wands
  • The Sword of Gryffindor

And of course, there was so much more! But I’ll stop there, so that you won’t get the urge to feed yourself to the Horntail or jump off your Nimbus 2000 out of sheer desperation to get away from my droning.

Yup, I think those are enough words for this post. How ’bout some pictures? Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to take any pictures of anything inside, because of silly things like copyright. But I did get some pictures outside the exhibit!

 

Close-up:

 

We left and started walking through Times Square, up towards the Whole Foods in Columbus Circle. And guess whom I saw?

I’m going to go see that next weekend, bee-tee-dubs. Aaaah, I’m so excited that I’ll be just feet away from Dan!!!!!

 

We got some soft-serve at tasti-D-lite before we got actual lunch, because one should always eat dessert first! I was a very happy camper.

1/2 kahlua n’ cream, and 1/2 creamy coconut. Absolutely deeeeelicious.

 

Oh, one last thing, I got 2 new Harry Potter posters that I’m super excited about. I’ll show you guys in my next post! 🙂

 

Qs~

If you’re not a fan (gasp!!!), sorry about all the HP-themed Qs.  I promise the next Qs will be completely HP free.

Have you ever been to the Harry Potter Exhibition? Would you like to if you could?

What’s your favorite spell?

This is where my truly obsessive, control-desiring, perfectionist personality comes through. As horrible as it may sound, I love the Imperius curse – not to be used on me, but for me to use on others. Then I could get everyone to do exactly what I wanted, when I wanted, and how I wanted. I also like Accio, because then I’d never have to haul my lazy ass up to get anything ever again! 😉

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 9:54 pm

    LOVE this post!!
    And I’m jealous of you going to Dan’s new play 😉 He was looking pretty tasty in this last movie!! haha
    Fave spell? Hmm, idk! I would love to play quidditch!
    Spells.. I guess it would be expecto patronum? I would love to see what my patronus shape would be!

    Glad you enjoyed the froyo! Keep fighting!!!

  2. July 18, 2011 9:54 pm

    P.s. you are absolutely beautiful. Seriously. Do not EVEREVEREVER doubt that!!!

  3. July 18, 2011 10:58 pm

    I AM SO JEALOUS!!! I wish I could go there!

  4. July 18, 2011 11:27 pm

    Looks like you had so much fun! The only movie related exhibition I’ve been to was the Lord of the Rings one and that was only because the movie was filmed here 😛 It was pretty cool though! I LUUUURVE Harry Potter. I’m so jealous that you’re going to Dan’s play! I’m a lover of Rupert Grint myself 😉 (I’m all about the red heads.)

    xxx

  5. July 19, 2011 1:45 am

    Ahh! That looks so exciting! It’s coming to Syndey in November – it opens the day of my Graduation Ball. So I’ll most definately be heading up there, I think it’ll be a great way to celebrate finishing school. Let us know what ‘How to Succeed……’ is like. I’m a little bit jealous. xxx

  6. July 19, 2011 9:02 am

    Ahhhh I’m am a HUGE Harry Potter geek, and proud of it too haha. I’m therefore extremely jealous of you right now XD Glad you had fun though! And my favorite spell is talantelegra just because it would be soooo funny to see people dancing around like that. Although if I had to choose something I’d rather choose a potion hehe. Felix felicis. Luck! I think I’d love potions class because everything has to be so precise and controlled. A challenge!

  7. Camilla permalink
    July 19, 2011 1:37 pm

    Ahhh! I freaking LOVE HP!!! I cried at least 4 times during DH Pt. 2 😦 So jealous, beautiful girl!! 😀

  8. July 19, 2011 9:14 pm

    The exhibition sounds so cool! I can’t believe how young harry was in the first movie!

    Glad you had a fun time 🙂

  9. July 21, 2011 3:17 pm

    ❤ #97

Leave a Reply

