Skip to content

The Past Few Days

June 20, 2011

‘Sup guys. It’s been a while, huh? Almost a week now since I wrote my last post.

I feel like I say this every time (because I probably do) but I have just been so overwhelmed with school work and such. I finally finished my Spanish course today. I took my final test (and got a 96! :-)) and now I am completely done with Spanish for this year. I am 1/3 done with Chem and have barely tackled algebra. Ok, honestly, math just scares me and I’m putting it off on purpose. On the bright side, I’m doing well with the work I have to complete for my public high school. I’m almost done with the AP Bio packet that’s due on June 30th and I’m zippin’ through the book I have to read for Honors English.

I’m reading And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. I started is last night and I’m already more than halfway done with it. Guys, this book is fantastic. I highly recommend it, even if you’re not much of a murder mystery fan. Believe me, I’m not either…or at least I thought I wasn’t. Usually murder-related books scare me, but for some reason, I love this one. It’s so artfully and cleverly written – I have a feeling I’ll be finished with it tomorrow morning!

On the ED front….I’m just kinda eh. The morning I got my period was the morning my bloated stomach finally went completely flat. And it stayed flat for 8 days. Yesterday evening it was waaay larger than usual and today it’s been just slightly bigger. I can’t tell if this is more bloating or just this one constant food-baby. I’m not upset (yet) because I know if it is bloat….I have nothing to be worried about. But my period just ended a few days ago, and I’m doubtful that I’ve started to get bloated again so quickly. Whatever.  It’s not huge. It’s there – but it’s not huge. I guess I’ll just wait it out…see what happens.

Despite this annoyance, my eating has been ok. I haven’t restricted; I think I really learned my lesson from last time. In fact, the start of my period was the start of this random, raging appetite. I usually last from meal to meal without getting hungry in between. Today I haven’t been too hungry, but yesterday and for the past week, I’ve needed a snack between all of my meals. 

Not only have I been snacking, but I’ve been eating outside of my usual staple foods. Last Saturday, mommy and I went into the city. She’d gotten us tickets to see American Ballet Theater’s Coppelia at the Met, so we drove in early and stopped at WF for dinner. I was ravenous at that point (I’d eaten lunch at 1:30 and it was 6 by the time we got to WF) and bee-lined it to the hot foods bar. I filled up on different grain salads, 3 types of bean dishes, curried lentils, sweet potato casserole, steamed veggies, sautéed cabbage, and a few chunks of watermelon. Mmm!

Today I had a salad from Panera Bread for lunch, and soup from Panera for dinner. Last night I had some Greek food my parents brought home. Honestly, I have to say that I’m quite proud of myself for branching out like this. I don’t dislike other foods, but I love my staples so much that it’s hard for me to add variety to my meals. I really miss eating those foods now, but it’s also good that I’m willing to try other yummy things the world has to offer. After all, there’s more to eating than just oatmeal and yogurt.

Though sometimes, a great big bowl of oatmeal is just what you need. 😉

Overnight oats with milk, chobani, and mashed banana, strawberries, and blueberries. In the morning I added more blueberries and banana slices, and a spoonful of cinnamon raisin swirl pb!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 8:56 pm

    I’m proud of you for branching out with food and not restricting!!! 🙂 Good for you. Congrats for finishing Spanish and getting a 96, that’s fantastic! I hear ya- I’m not a fan of math either. And I looove And Then There Were None- such a fascinating book!
    We get bloated for all kinds of crazy reasons other than premenstrual stuff- try to remind yourself that it’s completely temporary and it doesn’t mean you’ve gained weight. Unfortunately I’m bloated almost all of the time due to digestive issues caused by the ED- so I empathize with it being frustrating. It will go away, though. Hang in there and keep telling ED to shut up! Text me if you need support. ❤
    Thinking of you as you finish up your schoolwork for the year!

  2. June 21, 2011 3:59 am

    Well done on your school marks, sweetie! You are such a smarty pants 😛

    Also, go YOU for branching out and eating different foods. I used to LOVE sticking to my staple foods until one day I just got bored. Like this morning, I REALLY didn’t want to eat oatmeal for breakfast (again) so I had some granola instead and BOY was it a nice change!

    Take care of yourself, Sweetie 🙂

    xxx

  3. June 21, 2011 3:52 pm

    That’s so amazing that you’ve been branching out and trying new foods. I agree that I like my staples but every once in awhile its good to try something new and maybe even like it!

    Your overnight oats look delicious and congrats on the grades 😀

  4. June 21, 2011 6:15 pm

    Congrats on the spanish test! That is awesome 🙂 And if you need any help with math, I can try to help 😉 Really though, skype homework group? I liked algebra!

    And I am so glad you didn’t let ED get to you this past week 🙂

    Hope this week is going amazingly!

    Scott

  5. June 23, 2011 2:18 pm

    Hey smarty!
    I’ll have to check out that book!
    Have you read “Girl with a dragon tattoo”? Those books are good! I recommend them :))
    And I know it’s kinda scary/uncomfortable to eat outside of staples sometimes, but look how awesome you are doing and how much your life is NOT controlled by food. I’m so proud of you. You really are an inspiration to me, Bry.
    Don’t worry about the stomach. Your body is probably still just getting adjusted, and things will settle out soon. Plus, it’s not like you’re eating unhealthy stuff anyway. So don’t worry about getting fat. You just don’t have the body frame to be big, anyway! You’re beautiful the way you are 🙂
    Oh and thanks for checking up on me the other night. That was so sweet. I’m doing much better.

Leave a Reply

