Skip to content

You Told Me So!

June 13, 2011

Well hello there.

Do you remember those little arguments you used to get into with your friends when you were younger? If in the end you turned out to be right, you would rub in her/his face with a big, snobby “I told ya’ so!”

Well guys, feel free to rub all you want, ’cause you were right. The morning after I posted this, I got my period. All the bloating, weight gain, and discomfort was caused by that. It wasn’t “real weight” gain. Looking back on last week and how miserable I was makes me really sad. I hated myself so much for gaining when it wasn’t actual weight and I couldn’t even control it. How ridiculous of me.

I guess it’s mainly because before my ED, my period was the most mellow, manageable thing ever. I never got cramps, and I never was bloated. Now since it’s come back, I’ve had cramps every time, and this time I had bloating too. Since I didn’t bloat two years ago, I didn’t know what it was this time. So I freaked out.

But I’m smarter now. My body must have changed after two years of amenorrhea, and now I know that my period will be accompanied by these discomforts. I know that in about a month, when I randomly gain two pounds, I have nothing to get upset about. Things will be much different next time. I won’t restrict, and I absolutely, positively will NOT run or work out in any other way. In fact, I might just be happy that my tummy is bigger and my weight is higher, because I will know that I am healthy and everything is working like it should.

The next time I’ll be stronger and much, much wiser.

Sadly I have no foodie pics to share with you guys. I seriously considered photographing my lunch  (the one I just finished eating) but it was nothing special, so I decided not to. Also, remember that Q&A I wanted to do a while back but then never got around to? Yeah, I still haven’t done it….but I haven’t forgotten. I just don’t have time to write nice responses to all the questions, but when I get the chance, I will definitely do it!

Oh, and I have to thank you all again for the continued love and support you give me. You’re the reason I’m as recovered as I am today, and I’m alway soooooo thankful for you!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 1:19 pm

    YAYAYAYA I knew i was right 😉

  2. Lauren permalink
    June 13, 2011 2:45 pm

    My period experience was very similar to yours. Before I lost mine, I had no problems at all. When I first started having it again, it was awful! Over time it lessened up though. Just give your body a while to adjust to it. And when it gets super hard, just tell yourself you only have to go through this 12 times in the whole year! lol

  3. June 13, 2011 4:18 pm

    So glad that you’re feeling better about it – and that you’re prepared for next time!
    Just like Lauren said, I also had the same experience. I used to be fine when I had my period, and now it’s pretty awful. I’ve blogged about it before – I’m in pain for quite a few days, and pretty depressed. Crossing my fingers now that it will lessen with time.

  4. June 13, 2011 4:59 pm

    Bryana, beautiful Bryana ❤
    I am so proud of you and your attitude! The fact that you listened to the opinion of others, even when that meant disobeying ED, shows how strong and incredible you are. Recovery is a long and hard process, and your recent struggles was an important learning experience for you. We have to get to know our bodies, learn to trust them and not let ED decide what is right for us.

    Keep shining my dear, you are special.

  5. June 13, 2011 5:38 pm

    Yay! I’m glad we were right! And I’m glad your are feeling better!
    You are awesome, girl!

  6. June 13, 2011 5:41 pm

    YAY! See, you’re just getting to learn how your body works now and that’s a good thing. I’m glad you’ve learned from all of this 🙂

    xxx

  7. June 14, 2011 5:15 am

    Yay! I’m glad you are feeling better about it and, now if it happens again, it won’t be so alarming! You dealt with this so well! Have great week! xx

  8. time for happiness permalink
    June 14, 2011 6:37 am

    ah I am so glad! Now, Bryana,, try to remember this for next time k? Cause now that you know your body does this about a week or so before… next time, maybe it will get a little bit easier to cope and realize its not permanent, ya know? But either way, I am so glad you’re feeling better now 🙂

  9. June 14, 2011 7:15 am

    Bryana, I’m so sorry I wasn’t able to comment earlier and offer the support I wanted to – I haven’t been able to get on-line for the past while.

    I just want to say I’m so proud of you for reaching out for help and support when you need it. ED’s are sneaky things that pop in when you least expect them – I’m so glad you were able to do what’s right for your body and that things are all clear now.

    Take care of yourself, ok?

  10. emsalot permalink
    June 15, 2011 6:39 pm

    I’m so glad that you’re feeling better! You mean SO much to me girlie and I’m glad that ED is out of your head and tht Bryana is back in control. Stay strong- lot’s of love your way!

Leave a Reply

