Skip to content

I Love Food!

June 2, 2011

Yo! Happy Thursday everyone. Can you believe this week is almost over? It just flew on by!

So as promised, here are some pictures of the two luna bars and the almond butter.

 

If you haven’t entered yet then what are you waiting for?!?!? and want to, click here!

So, who’s hungry? ‘Cause I’ve got quite a few foodie pics to show you! 🙂

Please excuse the horrible lighting and quality of this picture.

I got this massive craving for salmon one morning, so my mom went to the supermarket during her lunch break and got a fillet to have for dinner. I topped it with salt, garlic, and balsamic vinegar and baked it. In the meantime, I made a balsamic reduction (love – it gets sooo sweet) to pour over the fish. I wasn’t craving much else, so I tried to go with a salad, but it turned out that we were out of lettuce. (Boo!)  So I threw together some cucumber slices, red bell pepper, onion, and jalapeño with some Trader Joe’s balsamic vinaigrette, and it ended up being pretty yummy.

 

 

On Sunday, my parents and I went into the City for a day. There was an art fair or something going on in The Village that my daddy wanted to go to. First though, we stopped in at Whole Foods (this one was at 95 E. Houston, if you’re ever in the area) for some lunch. I finally had some of the hot foods/ salad bar. It did not disappoint.

I don’t know if I remember everything, but here’s some of what was in the jumble: some sort of Indian chickpea stew, Indian red bean stew, Indian potato stew, some Indian spiced rice, a piece of naan, a samosa, an Indian falafel-ish type thing (I think it was Indian food day at WF or something, if you couldn’t tell. ;-)), some quinoa, kamut, and barely, 2 types of grilled tofu, roasted apples (maple-y and amazing!), curried carrots, roasted squash, green beans, cucumber slices, a piece of shredded grilled chicken, and some kind of quinoa-tuna salad.

Of course, after I finished that I was desperately craving something sweet (hello sweet tooth), and went back to look for a little dessert. What better way to satisfy it than with…

…CHOCOLATE!!! 74% dark chocolate with cranberries and cherries, to be exact. This was so good. It was bitter, had the perfect amount of sweetness, and was very smooth. It was also expensive (isn’t everything in Whole Foods?) but it was so delicious that it was worth it!

 

Breakfast this morning: voluminous oat bran with a few strawberries cooked in. After cooking I stirred in some banana slices and a scoop of Trader Joe’s chocolate whey protein powder. I topped it with one square of Ghirardelli’s 60% and a blob of almond buttah.

 

Yeah, that’s the same exact lunch, just 3 different angles. I couldn’t decide which I wanted to use, so I used all 3. 🙂 I had a sandwich which consisted of sliced turkey, cucumber, onion, mustard, and a laughing cow light garlic herb wedge, all on a Trader Joe’s sandwich thin. On the side I had a leftover apple half, some more cucumber slices, and 2 super ripe kiwis.

Did I mention I went shopping at Trader Joe’s yesterday? Well I did, and I got a lot of great things. I got the above sandwich thins, tortillas, cinnamon crumpets, the protein powder, coffee (which I broke into this morning and discovered is amazing), luna bars, fruit leathers, 21 seasoning salute, canned salmon, brownie mix, frozen chocolate-covered banana slices, more chocolate croissants, a pear tart, mango butter, and some peanut butter + cream cheese spread (that stuff is creamy crack guys, I’m telling you!) I ate it straight off the spoon on one of the tortillas I got. ‘Twas absolutely divine!

 

Qs~

Favorite percentage of chocolate?

I’m definitely all about the dark chocolate, but I don’t really enjoy the 100%, unsweetened kind. I prefer it anywhere between 65% and 85%.

 

What summer fruits do you most look forward to?

Cherries, strawberries, rasperries, blueberries, watermelons, and kiwis!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 2:36 pm

    WOO love the voliminous oats! 😉
    my fav percentage is 85% or 90%!

  2. June 2, 2011 2:43 pm

    Your eats look so yummy-again! lol. I actually prefer milkl chocolate 🙂

    And I love cherries and watermelon..mmmm 😛

  3. June 2, 2011 3:40 pm

    I’m currently lovin’ 75% dark chocolate – but I have a feeling the darker the better 😉

    I like pretty much all summer fruit – so it’s a toss up between watermelon, strawberries and cherries.

    And that hot bar looks awesome. I love being able to mix and match like that.

  4. June 2, 2011 4:31 pm

    I’m with you on the dark but not too dark. I love around 75 to 85 percent.

    I really need to try the Whole Foods hot bar sometime. I go there every two to three weeks but I’ve never had the hot bar. Crazy!

    My favorite summer fruits are blueberries, golden raspberries, watermelon and apricots. Fruits are my favorite fruit group!

  5. June 2, 2011 4:31 pm

    I’m with you on the dark but not too dark. I love around 75 to 85 percent.

    I really need to try the Whole Foods hot bar sometime. I go there every two to three weeks but I’ve never had the hot bar. Crazy!

    My favorite summer fruits are blueberries, golden raspberries, watermelon and apricots. Fruits are my favorite food group!

  6. time for happiness permalink
    June 2, 2011 6:37 pm

    BRYANA holy cow this is making my mouth water wayyy too much hahaha. That chocolate looked amazing and i loooveee cranberries so I think I would love that! The oats, the salmon… ahh so good 🙂
    I got cherries yesterday for the first time in a while, you know the kind with the pits that you can spit 😛 well I am OBSESSED with them, those are definately my favorite for summer right now, along with berries like you!

  7. June 2, 2011 7:48 pm

    yayy so glad you got to finally try the WF hot bar! i was at that houston whole foods just last week =)

    favorite percentage of chocolate is 85% or 90%! i’m dark chocolate lover

  8. June 3, 2011 7:38 am

    My chocolate cravings can differ from wanting milk chocolate one day to dark chocolate the next. However, I HATE bitter chocolate so the darkest I’ll got is 60-70%. Otherwise I just cannot stomach it! Your oats look very yummy 🙂

    xxx

Leave a Reply

