Skip to content

Steppin’ It Up

May 19, 2011

Hola, my chocolate chips!

So I had a little doctor’s appointment today. I haven’t been in 6 weeks, so this was just a routine check up. It was just the usual: weight, blood pressure, pee-in-cup. For the most part, it was pretty average, and everyone was so happy that I got my period twice! Unfortunately, my weight was…down. Not by much, just a little over a pound. But any amount is a lot for me, and just the fact that I lost is not ok!

In all honestly, I was very surprised that I’d lost. I haven’t changed my eating habits or intake – or at least I thought I hadn’t, but obviously I have. So I’m steppin’ it up! I have no problems eating more. I love food, and I love eating, so this’ll be great. I am still confused as to why I lost, but I guess this just goes to show how much I really need to eat to maintain. I had been eating about 2,100 calories a day. (I don’t count calories, this is just a ballpark estimate.) Once ballet ends for the year, I know I’ll need less, but for right now, it looks like I’ll need around 2,300 or more. Who’da thunk?

Let’s just say, there will be many nanner+nutters, PBSOAS’s (peanut butter straight off a spoon), and Hershey’s kisses in my future! 😉

Any questions for my Q&A? Ask ’em in the comments section here, or in this post!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 3:28 am

    I know how you feel. I was trying to gain on 2500, and I maintained! I was so shocked lol. Peanut butter is a life saver 🙂 (BTW what is your BMI out of curiousity)

  2. May 20, 2011 4:16 am

    im not worried at all girl! i know you wnt to put that little bit bak on and u dont want to fall back!! u sound like u are in a great place! YAY FOR MORE nanners and pb!!!

  3. May 20, 2011 4:46 am

    More bananas and pb can only ever be a good thing! 😉 It sounds like you are in a really positive frame of mind which is great! xx

  4. May 20, 2011 12:47 pm

    I remember this happened to me to when first being released from IP. Your body is just balancing everything out and eventually you’ll get to a place where you maintain without trying – your body will give you all the cues if you just listen.
    In the meantime- don’t stress about it too much and enjoy all your tasty treats 😛

  5. May 20, 2011 2:41 pm

    Look at you go!! You’re an amazing influence for me. Wanting to gain even after losing just one pound? YOURE FAB! You, my beautiful Bryana, are a recovery warrior. and I look up to you.

  6. May 20, 2011 2:48 pm

    This has happened to me occasionally throughout my recovery–I was eating more, but still ended up losing a pound or two. It was a little frustrating, especially since sometimes I was eating less and ended up gaining weight, but I know you’ll gain it back in no time! Enjoy those bananas and nut butters 😉

  7. May 21, 2011 12:21 am

    I love your spirit, girl! 🙂 Your commitment to recovery is so inspirational! I think you’re right about the calories you need to maintain- I think 2,300 or more is a good ballpark considering all the dancing you do. Keep up the awesome work! ❤

  8. Dana permalink
    May 21, 2011 10:41 am

    2300-2500 is prob more like it for you. I eat 2200 just sittin around on my butt doing nothing all day :p but I dont know your height or how many hours your dance. Obviously we are all different! But I would just add however many calories you think your burning dancing to about 2000. So if you dance for two hours and think you burned 500 calories then you prob need 2500. Just a rough estimate 🙂

  9. May 26, 2011 2:02 pm

    you can do it!

Leave a Reply

