Skip to content

Any More Questions?

May 13, 2011

Hey, guess what?

Chicken butt! It’s Friday the 13th today! I’m not the least bit superstitious, but I think it’s really cool to say, “Hey, it’s Friday the 13th.” It’s just got a nice ring to it, no? 🙂

Yesterday I was reading through some of my old posts and came across my Q&A. I think it’d be cool to do another one, because I had a lot of fun with it the last time. (That’s sounds really narcissitic of me actually…) So if you have any questions, please ask! It can be about anything, anything at all. I’m also thinking of adding a Q&A page at the top of this blog. Any thoughts?

I’ll elaborate more on this in a later post, but I’d like to say that I have become a very open person. I used to be incredibly shy and quiet, and I hated answering personal questions. One of the two good things that I got out of anorexia (the other being this) is that I lost most of my inhibitions. These days I am less of a people pleaser and more of a Bryana pleaser. I’m doing a lot of things my way, for me. I’m learning that it’s ok to act in ways that benefit me and might make others uncomfortable. (For example, if someone cuts in front of me in a line, I tell her/him to get behind me because I was there first. If I know someone is trying to feed me BS, I call that person out. I’m not saying I’m mean, ’cause I’m not. I just refuse to let people walk all over me like I used to.) I also have no reservations about talking about personal things. It’s strange, because I used to be so painfully shy. But since my ED began, and especially now that I’ve recovered, I’m not shy at all, and I’m up for talking about almost anything.

So I guess what I’m trying to say by all that rambling is, please don’t hesitate. I’m definitely willing to answer almost any question.

*Though of course, you don’t have to ask me anything at all if you don’t want to. I’d appreciate it of course, but please, do what you would like*


Since we were just talking about food (Wait, were we talking about food? We weren’t? Oh, well we should have been!) how about some recent eats? 🙂

Random dinner: a slice of ezekiel bread with a fried egg-white and tabasco sauce. Also a gala apple, string cheese, and a palmful of peanuts and pistachios.

 

For part of brekkie one morning, I had a whole-wheat tortilla. Half had a wedge of Laughing Cow Light Garlic+Herb cheese, and the other was spread with a fudgie and strawberry preserves.

 

The other part of my breakfast was a nanner + nutter (peanut butter on one, 3-nut butter on the other) and some super sweet strawbs. In my opinion, life doesn’t get much better than strawberries in season.

 

Burrrrrrrito!!! A whole-wheat tortilla stuffed with Amy’s Refried Beans, shredded mozzarella cheese, lettuce, and onion, grilled in my cast-iron skillet. On the side I had 1/2 a banana with cinnamon – love!

 

Are you hungry yet? (Or is the food I eat too weird? :-))

 

Qs~

Are you superstitious?

Are you a “just let it pass” or “girl, I will cut you” kind of person? Or somewhere in between?

Any questions for me? 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. emsalot permalink
    May 13, 2011 3:57 pm

    I can relate to having ED change you into more of a take charge person, it’s had the same effect for me!
    Questions: What do you consider the most difficult part of mantaining all the progress you’ve made in recovery?
    What makes you smile everyday?

  2. May 13, 2011 4:05 pm

    girrrll that nanner is making my DAY!! I used to be JUST like you! so glad ur becoming more confident in urself!! YAY for a Q+A! just posted another one of my Q+As today!

  3. May 13, 2011 4:56 pm

    You are so great, Bryana ^^ It is truely amazing to be a part of your life and see how you are changing in such a beautiful way. You are becoming you again, and you my friend is a wonderful person.
    I can relate to becoming a more open and secure person through recovery. It does teach you so many valuable lessons and help you realize your strength and worth.

    No, I’m not very superstitious. I didn’t even know it was Friday 13th today, haha. Ooops.
    I’ll think about a question for you… hmmm…. What has been your greatest motivation in recovery?

    All my love ❤

  4. May 13, 2011 5:58 pm

    Haha, I didn’t even notice it was Friday the 13th till just now, and it’s 11:55 PM. So I guess I’m not superstitious then 😛

    And I’d say I’m not really a “cutting” type person. I’m pretty non-confrontational if I can help it – but if I feel strongly about an issue I have no problem voicing my opinion.

  5. May 13, 2011 6:46 pm

    I’ve kind of discovered the same thing about myself lately, how I’m less of a people pleaser and more focused on making myself happy–not that I’m selfish or anything, just that I’ve leaned to stick up for myself. I’m not sure if it happened because of my recovery or just dealing with difficult people this year, but it’s a good change!

    The tortilla half with the preserves and fudgie looks SO GOOD! I’ve gotta try that 😀

    My question for you is what is your favorite memory of the past year (ED related or random)?

  6. May 13, 2011 8:16 pm

    Just quickly, because I have so much work to do today, I have a question, but it’s not particularly deep or meaningful….
    I’m just interested in what brand pointe shoes you wear… 🙂

  7. May 14, 2011 7:28 am

    Hehe your taste in food is so awesomely random 😛

    I can relate to you so much in the way that i used to be painfully shy as well. I used to find it so hard to simply call up the doctors office to make an appointment! I would actually cry because i couldn’t handle talking to someone on the phone…let alone in person. SHEESH! I’m glad that’s passed.

    I am superstitious in the way that I don’t walk under ladders, I *touch wood* and I say “bless you” when someone sneezes. But other than that I don’t think I am 😛

    You’re amazing, girlie! xxxx

  8. May 14, 2011 10:30 am

    ED recovery definitely made me less of a people pleaser too. I am much more assertive than I used to be but I’m not sure whether that is partly just growing up/age. I’m so much more secure with myself physically and mentally post ED though!

    I knock on wood and I don’t like shoes on the table. I wouldn’t say I was too superstitious though!

    I love half sweet/half savory bread-related meals! 😉

  9. May 14, 2011 2:47 pm

    I have a question for you! 🙂
    How did you develop a positive body image? It is so inspirational to see posts where you say you’re proud of your body and love it- I want to get to that place too, but although I’ve made so much progress with eating, I still loathe my body.

  10. Sarah permalink
    May 14, 2011 10:56 pm

    Your eats look so yummy!
    I have a question for you! How do you handle bad body image days?? You seem to be so positive and accepting of you body, I struggle with this so much. Even if I know that I’m feeding and nourishing my body well it often feels impossible to like my physical appearance. I don’t know how to get there.
    You’re an amazing fighter, Bryana. I am so happy to have you as a friend : )
    xxx

  11. time for happiness permalink
    May 15, 2011 8:40 am

    I think I am somewhere in the middle- to a point I am a people pleaser…and to a point I am able to say no and draw the line. I think it has to do with whoooo in my situation… like if its my family-forget it, I will be the biggest people pleaser to my family….even when it puts me in a bad position. With friends its a bit easier to say no, and understand that they will get over it. I am definately not the “girl imma cuttt youu” kind, but I am not a loof either… I’m just right in the middle hehe. Andddd I am ultraa superstitious. the end 🙂

  12. May 15, 2011 5:40 pm

    Random side note: LOVE that video! So funny 😉

    I am still a bit reserved, maybe more than a bit. I don’t like to talk about deep things, but I think being able to do that, at least with a therapist, is really a good thing. I really want to work on that…

    Scott

Leave a Reply

