Skip to content

Normal Eating?

May 9, 2011

Hello my Peanut Butter Cups!

As you know, since I got my period, I’d been having some trouble finding a good balance between restricting and eating to gain weight.

I first started seeing my dietician, Andrea, in October 2009. She works together with my ED doc, so whenever I’d see one, I’d see the other. She gave me quite a few papers about eating, hunger scales, and such. One of those papers was an article, “Normal Eating.”

What is Normal Eating?

Normal eating is going to the table hungry and eating until you are satisfied. It is being able to choose food you like and eat it and truly get enough of it -not just stop eating because you think you should. Normal eating is being able to give some thought to your food selection so you get nutritious food, but not being so wary and restrictive that you miss out on enjoyable food. Normal eating is giving yourself permission to eat sometimes because you are happy, sad or bored, or just because it feels good. Normal eating is mostly three meals a day, or four or five, or it can be choosing to munch along the way. It is leaving some cookies on the plate because you know you can have some again tomorrow, or it is eating more now because they taste so wonderful. Normal eating is overeating at times, feeling stuffed and uncomfortable. And it can be undereating at times and wishing you had more. Normal eating is trusting your body to make up for your mistakes in eating. Normal eating takes up some of your time and attention, but keeps its place as only one important area of your life.

In short, normal eating is flexible. It varies in response to your hunger, your schedule, your proximity to food and your feelings.

The link to this article on the website is here. 🙂

I absolutely love this. Even at the worst of my ED, this got through to me and made me realize eating was normal and ok. I re-read this earlier today, and it made me feel so much better. Since my break-up with ED, he’s actually been pretty quiet. But this helped me feel even better, and  made ED shut up even more.

The way I see it, normal eating is all about balance. You can have 2 huge meals one day and a few smaller snacks the next. You might crave veggies all day, then wake up the next morning and want a doughnut for breakfast. You can undereat if you run out of time or forget to eat all together if you’re really busy. Your body will just make up for it the next day by being extra hungry. Our human body is smarter than out brain and thoughts can ever be. It knows what’s right, and it will all even out in the end.

Qs~

What do you think of this article?

How would you define “normal eating?”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 10:54 pm

    That’s an awesome article! I agree with it 100% and I think it’s so cool to find out how flexible and smart our bodies are. It’s pretty awesome how well they’ve bounced back after everything we put them through. Such resilience!

    I just wish that my hunger and fullness cues weren’t so out of wack so I could actually start intuitive eating. Unfortunately, I can’t eat very lightly when I’m not hungry or busy, b/c sometimes my body needs food and just doesn’t let me know, or I tell myself I’m just too busy to eat more food but it’s really the ED being a sneaky little bitch. I know I’ll be a normal, intuitive eater soon enough- I just have to give my body time to develop better hunger/fullness cues.

    It made me so happy to get your comment about being 90% fully recovered. You have made such incredible strides- you’re amazing and you inspire me!

    Can’t wait to hear more about your show! 🙂 It sounds amazing and the picture of you dancing is beautiful!

  2. time for happiness permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:34 pm

    I definatey agree with the article, and once weight is all restored and most ed thoughts are gone, I think that is the main goal of recovery! Not to be on a strict meal plan but to be able to kinda splurge one day and maybe one day want all veggies and all day want sweets! I agree, if you want something… “normal” eaters would just have it!

  3. May 10, 2011 4:52 am

    This is so true and it really does help with tackling ED. So what if one day you eat more? Your body needs it, that’s what my mum always tries to tell me when I feel bad about going over my meal plan. And if you eat less that’s normal too but it’s not reason for ED to get all excited and controlling either. Thanks for this I’ll think of it whenever I feel more hungry than usual 🙂

  4. May 10, 2011 1:03 pm

    I LOVE normal eating! It’s the feeling of not freaking out if you don’t eat enough or eat too much.. I think sometimes I freak out when I do either, and that’s just letting ED control me again. i need to learn to accept it when I’m not 100% perfectly satisfied, ya know?
    Anyway, nice post Bry 🙂
    Good luck on balancing! You are doing great.

  5. emsalot permalink
    May 10, 2011 1:59 pm

    I love that article! And I’m happy that you’re going to a dietitian, it has really helped me along my road to “normal eating” and I hope that it will help you find balence too(:
    Keep going girl<3

  6. May 10, 2011 10:13 pm

    I’ve seen that article before..honestly? I don’t like it! It just leaves me exactly where I began! I personally don’t like it though because in my mind I’d just like there to be a right way and a wrong way, it’d be so much easier- this is probably due to the fact that I don’t trust my body and I think it wants me to be fat; or chubby, or at least, not how I want it to be…even though a body doesn’t have a separate brain in which it actually “thinks”.. Don’t get me wrong though- I think that it is correct, in the fact that life will get in the way and that we will have to do these things, but in my warped little brain it makes no sense- why are you goin to let these things “get in the way” I guess that is the rigidity part huh?..it get’s my brain angry. I get the logic- eat a bunch of calorie dense food one day, only crave vegetables the next, balance out, and so on..but really deep down inside I don’t want that to happen! I’d rather just be CONSTANTLY balanced all the time..I guess I just like the stability. Normal eating to me is eating what you want when you want as long as you are comfortable, not restricting when you’re hungry or craving something, and not over eating when you’re already full and not going to enjoy the food.

  7. May 12, 2011 12:52 am

    i totally agree with and love this article!! SO true 🙂 It is such a great goal to work towards 🙂

Leave a Reply

