Skip to content

My Shows!

May 8, 2011

Hello. First of all, sorry about the lame title. I couldn’t come up with a good one for this. Believe me, I tried.

Second of all, happy Mother’s Day to all of your wonderful mothers!!!

Well, my weekend has been pure insanity! I had a full dress rehearsal on Friday, which pretty much felt just like a show. Then I had another dress rehearsal and the 2 shows on Saturday – I ended up being in the theater for 13 hours!!! Add that to the fact that I was dancing twice as much (because of J’s injury) and you get one burnt out ballerina! I even slept a whole 10 hours last night. That never happens, as I usually sleep for 7 or 8 and then wake up naturally. So you could say I was completely exhausted.

Decades ago, my dad was a professional photographer. A few years back he took it up again and last year he was asked by the managing director of my ballet school to photograph the school and company shows. Now we have thousands of pictures of everything to do with Coppelia.

None are on my computer yet, but as soon as they are, I’ll show you guys some of the pictures. He’s getting pretty good at capturing us at just the right moment: at the height of a grand jeté or a balance in piqué arabesque. He actually took quite a few really good pictures of us dancing. In Act 3 of Coppelia, there is a wedding of the two “main characters.” For the wedding, there are several smaller dances that are sort of like…I don’t know how to explain it…for celebration and entertainment, I suppose. 

The one and only picture I have (for now) on my computer of Coppelia is of me and my friend E, in the final pose of a 2 minute dance we did for the wedding.

 

Sorry this is such a short post, but that’s it for now, as I am still pretty beat. I’ll talk more about the show in a later post. And there will definitely be pictures!

Have a great night! (Or day, if you’re on the other side of the Earth! ;-))

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 9:58 pm

    Gorgeous! I can’t wait to see more!
    Hope you get some rest. 🙂

  2. May 8, 2011 11:34 pm

    oh my goodness, what a beautiful picture!!! i love that huge smile on your face too =)

  3. Claire permalink
    May 9, 2011 12:40 am

    you look so pretty!

  4. May 9, 2011 1:50 am

    Stunning!! I can’t wait to see more!

  5. May 9, 2011 3:50 am

    AHH OMG THAT LOOKS AMAZING!! so professional!

  6. time for happiness permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:38 am

    beautiful!! I am so excited to see the rest!!

  7. May 9, 2011 1:56 pm

    Looking forward to all the rest of your pictures!

  8. May 9, 2011 4:08 pm

    Ohmygoodness Bry! You’re gorgeous! I’m so proud of you 😀

  9. emsalot permalink
    May 10, 2011 2:00 pm

    You look gorgeous! Can’t wait to hear more, love(:

  10. May 10, 2011 11:53 pm

    great picture! You are so so beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

