Skip to content

Three Things Thursday

May 5, 2011

Hey hey!

I’m glad you all supported my break-up with the looser. It was 11:30 at night and I was exhausted, but I got his random desire to write. So I sat down at my computer, and that’s what came out. 🙂

Well, today is Thursday, and since I have so much to do today (tons of cleaning, schoolwork, 5 hours of rehearsal) I think I’ll keep things short with another TTT post.

1.) I got a cortisone shot today. For the past two months I’ve been having some problems with my right foot. My last two toes are oddly shaped in a way that when I wear pointe shoes, a knuckle in my pinkie toe presses really hard into a knuckle in my fourth toe. This causes a (insert big word the doc used) which he described as “painful as heck.” It’s some sort of inflammation that will go away if I stop dancing. Well, since I have no intentions to stop dancing any time soon, the only other option would be surgery on my toes to stop my knuckles from rubbing. The idea would be to cut a tendon which would then straighten my toe a bit. But even though it’s really the only option to fix this problem, the doctor said he didn’t like the thought of doing that to my toe. Apparently, I need that tendon when I dance, while non-dancers don’t. He said he wouldn’t want to possibly mess up my dancing. In addition, the recovery time on the surgery is 2 months…2 months I don’t have. I dance over the summer too, so there really is no time in the year for me to take off. In a last-ditch effort, he suggested a cortisone shot to reduce both the inflammation and pain. It seems to be working because as soon as he injected it, the doctor touched the spot and asked if it hurt. It didn’t, which is good. He said I could come back in 6 months for another one if this one helps.

2.) I love birds nests. I’m not sure why I have such an obsession but I do. When I was 6, a robin made a nest in our holly tree and it was so low to the ground that I could put a stool next to it and look in. I watched as the nest went from empty to having little blue eggs, the little blue eggs turning into bald, pink babies, the babies growing up and starting to look like robins, and then finally flying stumbling away. The whole ordeal was so miraculous to me. For whatever reason, after that one year, I’d hope to find a nest in the spring, and whenever I did, I’d get very excited. To this day, the sight of a robin’s nest makes me so happy. Anyhow, the other day I found one in the little tree in my front yard. As of now, they’re still eggs, but I’ll keep you posted! 🙂

3.) My shows are on Saturday!!!!! Yesterday I had class and a spacing/tech rehearsal in the theater from 4:45-9, and it’s the same schedule tonight too. Tomorrow it is a full on dress rehearsal as is Saturday morning. Saturday afternoon and evening are the two shows. During last Saturday’s rehearsal, my best friend at ballet partially tore a ligament in her ankle and is out. What a thing to get injured a week before the show, huh?!?! I happen to be her alternate for two of three roles (she does one role the first show, I do a different role, and then vice versa for the second show). So that means I get to work double time and do a quick change. As much as it tires me, I am happy to do it. Of course, I wish J were alright and I didn’t have to. I can only imagine how disappointed and distraught she is. But since I have to do it, I am quite excited. It proves to myself that I am now strong enough to dance twice as much, and it shows all my teachers that they can count on me to pull through when things like this happen. And really, at the end of the day, I am a ballet dancer, and that’s what I’m there for: to dance. I love performing, and I’m pretty darn lucky that I get to dance everything twice! (But I am soooo sorry J. I hope you recover very, very soon! )

 

Q~

Have you ever broken/torn/sprained anything?

I’ve been lucky. I’ve never broken a single bone, nor have a torn or sprained anything. The worst I’ve had are cuts and bruises…and this stupid thing with my toe.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. time for happiness permalink
    May 5, 2011 5:08 pm

    omg! Okay so there was this intensly huge ospreys nest by my moms piano studio the other day and I took pictures they are so pretty I agree! I love your pictures 🙂
    I have broken tons of bones my dear, I know it sucks. I got elbow surgery, and I used to get pretttttyyyy regular cotrizone shots in my back too, and I know its not fun 😦 Time heals it though my love

  2. May 5, 2011 7:27 pm

    Hope your toes work out… 😦 And do you think there might be any ballet pictures of you?? I’d love to see some 🙂

  3. May 5, 2011 8:04 pm

    wow ive never seen a robins nest / robins eggs before!! they are sooo beautiful. THATS why theres that crayola color robins egg blue… haha.

    ive never broken/sprained anything before but i HAVE dislocated my elbow three times and my shoulder once..if that counts for anything! haha
    hope your foot heals soon!

  4. May 5, 2011 10:22 pm

    I’ve had a cortisone shot twice! Both within the past couple years for slight running knick-knack injuries.. It helped both times! It took a couple days to heal cuz it was sore, but after that I was good as new! Hope you are, too 🙂

    Bird nests really are fascinating. Your pics are beautiful!

    I wish I was able to see you perform! I’m sure you will do an amazing job at both roles. I’m also sorry that your friend is injured, but this is an amazing opportunity for you to really shine and show everyone how hardworking, talented, and beautiful you are 🙂
    So proud of you Bryana!

  5. May 6, 2011 7:29 am

    Hope your toe heals ASAP! I’ve never broken anything *touch wood* and I’m hoping that I never will! I think I may have sprained something in the past but I don’t remember haha. That birds nest looks so picture perfect, I love it!

    xxx

  6. emsalot permalink
    May 6, 2011 1:49 pm

    I hope that your toe can heal! I wish you the very best at your performance!
    It is your passion and I’m sure your love for it shows through your dancing.

  7. May 6, 2011 2:33 pm

    I have never seen blue eggs before–except at Easter! That is so cool!

    I fractured my right ankle in fourth grade when I was in a pom-acro dance class. Even though I had to drop out of that class, my ankle healed by the time I had my jazz dance recital in June. Right now, my right foot hurts really badly every time I walk because I ran on it the wrong way and I think I sprained it pretty badly. So I’ve stopped running, even though stupid ED wants me to keep doing it. Oh well, I’m not gonna injure myself permanently just to please him!

    I really hope your foot feels better so you can do AMAZING at your shows!

  8. May 8, 2011 6:30 pm

    Beautiful nest! We always get robin nests in our shed. I love the eggs!

  9. May 9, 2011 9:53 am

    Hope your toe feels better soon! I can’t wait to read about the performance 😉 I know it is up, but haven’t gotten over to it yet!

Leave a Reply

