Skip to content

A Body I Am Proud Of

April 22, 2011

Allo!

How are you my little beauties? Long time no blog, huh?

Actually, this is the longest time I’ve gone without posting since I started blogging in January!

I’m posting from my ipod touch right now, and the format is a little screwy, so bear with me.

K, first of all I must thank all of you ladies for your comments and for sharing my happines on my last post. Getting my period was a complete shock. Tuesday morning I came back up from breakfast, went to the bathroom to pee and BAM! Blood on the undies! My period has ALWAYS been extremely light – you could call it “spotting” rather than a regular flow – but apperently that is normal and healthy. That’s all it’s ever been anyway, just a couple of drops. That morning was no different; it wasn’t much, but it was definitely there! So again ladies, words fail me. I am so thankful and honored to have your wonderful support and friendship!!!!!

Since I am on my ipod, this is going to be a bit short. Well, I say it’ll be short but it always ends up being a novel anyway. What can I say? I love to ramble!

Getting my period back the other day got me thinking. I have too much to be thankful for. I am so lucky that I am as healthy, beautiful, and strong as I am. I took that health and everything else for granted during my ED. Now I realize 100% that everything I have is not guareteed forever. I must accept, appreciate, or love every single part of me for what it is and who I am!

So what do I love about myself? (This is only going to be about physical aspects. I’ll save the mental/emotional/intellectual stuff for another time.) There are 4 things I specifically pride myself on:

My naturally straight teeth. I have never had anything done to “fix” my teeth. I’ve never needed it. Many people ask me if I’ve had braces though. I can always happily reply that my teeth are in fact naturally this straight!

My legs. I love my legs a LOT. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but their shape and natural muscle definition make me so proud!

My clear skin. This is so important for me. I, for whatever reason, don’t get acne. I’ve got no complaints about that! 🙂 I get a single pimple on my forehead or chin once every 6 months, if that! My face is smooth, even toned, and clear! Last week, a couple of days before my period came back, I got a rash that looked similar to a pimple breakout, and a single pimple in between my eyebrows. Not knowing the cause, I had a bit of a freak-out. Now that I got my period, I know what caused the rash, and it has gone away. Yay!

 

My curly hair. This is my MOST loved and cherished feature. I have such unique, beautiul hair and it’s the kind of thing that gets people’s attention. My therapist helped me realize that I define a lot of myself by my hair. When my hair was limp, dull, and essentially dead during my ED, I used to be so ashamed of it and myself. My hair, my pride and joy looked horrible. Now it is as healthy as ever and I am as happy about it as can be. Sure it’s a pain in the ass to manage much of the time, but when it is managed, it can be stunning. I wouldn’t change it for the world!!!

I am lucky beyond description to have what I have and be who I am. I won’t ever take any of it as a given. In fact, from now on I plan on living, no, thriving through each day. I try to remind myself:

Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift. That’s why it is called the present.

Today IS a gift! I WILL cherish each day I have and thrive!

Yup, as expected, this post turned out longer than I had wanted. Oops. 😉

Qs~

Do you ramble or are more of the quiet type?

Quick, tell me one thing (or as many as you’d like) that you LOVE about your appearance.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 9:01 pm

    aww such a great post – it makes me super happy! we all need our daily self-affirmations – reminds me of this youtube video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qR3rK0kZFkg

    i am definitely more of a rambly type but can be initially quiet and shy when im in a new environment for the first time.

    i love my dimples!!

  2. April 22, 2011 10:57 pm

    Don’t worry about your posts being long, I do the exact same thing saying it’s gonna be short and then it turns into a novel! And I love reading long posts so no worries!

    I really love this post because it got me thinking about what I like about myself. Hopefully this isn’t too many 😉 1) My height. I used to hate being small but now I love being 5’1! 2) My feet. Idk why I just like that they’re narrow and elegant-looking haha if feet can be elegant! 3) My freckles. They show up really well in the summer and I love them because my mom has them too and it reminds me of her.

  3. April 22, 2011 11:55 pm

    I absolutely love when bloggers make lists of what they love about themselves. You’re beautiful, for sure! 🙂 I like my beauty marks, my eyes because they’re a really nice brown, my hair because it’s long and has natural highlights, and my shortness, lol!

    In real life, I’m very quiet, even shy, but on my blog…well that’s a different story!

  4. time for happiness permalink
    April 23, 2011 6:36 am

    I loved it! Not too short not too long justttt right! I ramble on, for sure lol. and ummmm my hair too I like 🙂 And also my eyebrow and sometimes my arms!
    hahaha see…rambling agaiinnn
    <33

  5. April 24, 2011 8:48 am

    I’m so happy to see you back – and in such a positive frame of mind to boot.

    What I like most about myself id my eyes 🙂 and my hair. It’s so healthy now, and although it’s bloody hard to style , it’s wild and crazy just like me 😛

  6. April 24, 2011 4:48 pm

    Beautiful post from a BEAUTIFUL girl : ).
    What do I love about myself…hmm…not so sure I’m there yet to be honest. I could name qualities but it’s difficult physically. I suppose I like my arms and the color of my eyes (greenish blue). : )
    Thank you for showing me something I need to work on!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

