Skip to content

What I Have Gained!

April 12, 2011

Hola!

Remember this post from a while back? I wrote it about a week after I started consciously gaining weight. I was still very underweight, but my mentality had done a 180° flip. I was going to gain weight if is was the last thing I did, damn it.

And now, 3 months later, I have done just that. I’ve gained the weight and learned to love myself for who I am. At 112 pounds, I can answer the question I then asked you guys.

What have you gained since you’ve gained?

Absolutely everything!

The energy to be a friend and have friends.

Softer skin. Hello fats! Guys, I am telling you, if you have dry skin, forget the lotion. Just increase your fat intake. My skin used to be so dry and cracked it was painful. Now, I rarely use lotion, as my skin is moist and soft on its own.   

Shinier, fuller hair. With my low body weight, my hair was dull and limp, and would fall out in clumps. Now it is longer, stronger, thicker, and shinier.  

 

Improved concentration and memory. For most of my ED, my concentration level was at like, -10. No matter how hard I tried, my brain was physically incapable of  concentrating or remembering anything. Now, I can easily concentrate on most anything, and I remember things almost unconsciously.

Increased energy. Well, this is self explanatory. I am sure most of you are familiar with the hellish feeling of having no energy. Well this days, my energy feels limitless. I have the strength and stamina to live each day to the fullest!

A renewed respect for food. Like I explained here, I have always been a foodie. Now that I don’t spend my days obsessing about food, I have been able to really experiment and enjoy!

I had been craving boxed mac & cheese for 2 weeks. This box of Annie’s Gluten Free Rice Pasta and Cheddar was staring at me each time I opened the pantry, and I finally made it yesterday. Sadly, this was nasty. I’m not sure why, as I’ve had this exact kind before, and it was good. Maybe it was old or something…? I dumped a ton of parmesan cheese on top and it was edible…

 

This morning’s brekkie. Pancakes with strawberries, bananas, and chocolate chips. Yum!!!

 

A new respect for my body. Up until my ED, I never hated my body, but I never truly appreciated it either. Right now, I love about 90% of it. The other 10% I accept fully for what it is. I know I can’t change it, so I refuse to waste energy hating any part of myself.

I can rock booty shorts now because I actually have a booty! Sorry the line in the mirror is distorting my face.

 

To sum it up, by gaining weight, I have gained my life back. It is as plain and simple as that!

 

Q~

I’d love to know: what have you gained by gaining?

 

Edited to add: The beautiful Dana is hosting a giveaway. If you want some yummy Pure Bars, go check it out !

7 Comments leave one →
  1. time for happiness permalink
    April 12, 2011 9:53 pm

    I loved this. You know what, I agree with alot of what your saying, and the same goes for me. I think too though, for me, I gain-ing *still in the process of* trust. I have been dealing with this for almost 8 years now, and for my mom and loved ones to see that I actually am eating and trying to keep it up the work I have done through IP, its really nice to be trusted! I love your booty shorts, I love this post!!!!!!!

  2. April 12, 2011 10:17 pm

    You are seriously beyond gorgeous! I know I’ve said it before but you are a true inspiration to me in my recovery journey! I love that you are doing so much better now that you’re at a healthy weight. You really do glow 🙂

    For me, by gaining, I have really matured and taken more responsibility for myself. Going away to college was a scary thing, but I’m almost done with my freshman year, and I can proudly say that I have not slipped back into my ED, even though it would be easy to with no supervision. I actually care about my health and I want to have an actual career someday, not just struggle with ED everyday and have a miserable life. I want to actually LIVE!

  3. April 13, 2011 2:30 am

    WHOOHOO! isn it amazing what fats can do for your skin and hair? AMEN to that!! girl you seriously look BANGIN’ in that pic- you are amazing!!

  4. April 13, 2011 10:06 am

    Y ou look so hott girrllll!!! I love the short shorts. Take me shopping with you 😉

    xo

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    April 13, 2011 8:22 pm

    Girl, you are soo beautiful! I love your hair! (it reminds me of macaroni) 😉 You should be SO proud of all you have gained and accomplished.

  6. April 14, 2011 9:45 am

    You are beautiful Bryana 🙂

    Gaining is about SO much more than just weight, you are right about that! I know I have gained health, friends, my personality back, and so much more 🙂 Recovery is amazing isn’t it?!

    Scott

  7. emsalot permalink
    April 14, 2011 9:02 pm

    You’re so beautiful and look healthy! I’m glad that you’ve gained your life back through your recovery.
    I have gotten many of the same things back as I’ve reached my goal weight and it feels amazing.
    Again, so proud of you girl(:

Leave a Reply

