Skip to content

Reading the Signs

April 11, 2011

Hey guys! How was your weekend?

Mine was exhausting! I had ballet class and rehearsal on both Saturday and Sunday from 11-6. I am sore, tight, and tired, and I cannot wait for spring break next week!

I actually wanted to discuss something a bit personal, and the rest of this post might be a little awkward, especially for guys. It’s not really inappropriate, but it is the sort of thing many people feel uncomfortable to talk/read about. I for one am perfectly comfortable to say words like vagina, but if you are not, you may not want to read this.

My body has been doing some weird things lately. About a week ago, I woke up and realized that my inner labia was slightly red, itchy, and swollen. I figured that since it was all very minor, it would go away on its own. It didn’t. The next day it was slightly itchier, and the day after that was even worse. At some point (I don’t recall which day) I noticed some skin peeling as well. At first I thought it could have been an infection, but there was and still is no unpleasant odor or unusual discharge. By now it’s less itchy and painful, but I am still curious as to what is causing this. I read online that hormonal changes due to ovulation can cause this. Could it be…?

The same day my vaginal itch started, I noticed that what’s left of my boobies were sore and a bit painful, especially if I pressed into them. Before I lost my period, I felt this sensitivity every single day. When I stopped being able to menstruate my breast soreness stopped as well. Now it’s back, and it’s the same exact feeling I had when I could menstruate.

One last thing: on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday I had some mild come-and-go cramps. I haven’t had cramps since my last period 2 years ago, and I don’t think it’s a coincidence that they started around the same time as my vaginal/breast issues.  

I don’t want to get ahead of myself or get my hopes up, but these (possibly) seem to be signs of a period. My appetite still has been insane, and I cannot seem to get enough fats into my body. Barbecue potato chips, nanner + nutters, pb&j’s, luna/clif bars, and full-fat ice cream are my favorites.  

Maybe I am just being hypersensitive. I might be attuned to my body to the point of paranoia. I could be, but I don’t think so. During my appointment on Thursday, my dietician told me she didn’t think it would take months, maybe just weeks for my period to come back. I told her I was worried that I wasn’t menstruating by now, but based on her response, it was obvious she was not. She said I might need to gain just a few more pounds, but once I did, I wouldn’t have to wait long. “Try for two more pounds Bryana, and we’ll see you back in 6 weeks. Who knows, by then we might be having a totally different discussion.”

I have gained 17 pounds in three months. That is over 5 pounds a month of sheer will power, determination, and peanut butter. 🙂 I am 2 pounds above the weight I was when I lost it. If I have to gain another 2 pounds and wait another 2-6 weeks for this period business, I suppose that’s alright. But I have a feeling it won’t take that long.

I do believe in coincidences, but I do not think this is one. A sensitive vagina, sore breasts,  cramps, and a ca-razeeee craving for fats all at the same time? I can’t be certain, but I can read the signs.

 

Q~

I would reeeeeeally appreciate the help on this one too ladies!  Do you get any signs at all that your period is on its way? They don’t have to be like what I described. It can be anything at all.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 11:51 am

    Hi, Bryana! Firstly, I love your blog! I love the tone you set with it, the strength you show. Also, huge well done on all the progress you have made (I know it sounds really patronising) but I really mean it, you should be really proud of yourself. I think you are such a healthy inspiration for everyone struggling through recovery.

    Secondly, with regards to menstruation etc: my first period in/after recovery came out of nowhere. I had no signs at all. However, ever since then I get ovulation pain, like the cramps you were describing. They are mid-cycle and over within a few hours. It could be, in conjunction with everything else you have described, that you are, in fact, ovulating!!! I know sometimes in recovery, pain can come from everything moving again (as it were) and you may still not get a period for another cycle. Still, it sounds really positive and that everything is functioning properly again which is fantastic! I’m really happy for you! 🙂

    Sorry if this is a tad weird as a first comment but…what better time, right???

  2. April 11, 2011 11:53 am

    Hey! I hope your period comes back soon! I can’t really offer much advice as I am still waiting on my friend to return, but all those signs sound like good news! 🙂

  3. April 11, 2011 12:38 pm

    Get thee to a Doctor!
    Just to be sure.
    PS- Thank goodness for peanut butter. (0:

  4. April 11, 2011 1:32 pm

    OMG these all sound GREAT!!! like true period signs… and esp the fact that they are all coming at once– HOORAY!!

  5. April 11, 2011 2:06 pm

    Hi! I feel like I haven’t commented in a while! I’m still reading though. 🙂

    I think all those signs are goooddd!!! Even if you don’t get your period right away, I think your hormones are def. getting back to normal. And it can only get better from here.

    I don’t usually get too many physical signs before my period. Sometimes I feel of pressure/pain in my ovary areas – its kinda weird. Mostly, I just get crazy emotional. I’ll have a crying breakdown the day before and I’ll feel completely hopeless. Then the next day I’m much better and ta-da – period! lol

    Hope that helps!

  6. April 11, 2011 2:23 pm

    I don’t think you’re reading too much into these signs–I think you know your body really well and if that’s the case, I think you’ll be getting your monthly gift back in no time 😉

    As for signs that I experience, I usually get more headache than usual the week before, I feel minor cramps and my skin breaks out a little bit. Everyone’s different though. But it sounds like you’re about to get yours back–yay!!!!!!

  7. time for happiness permalink
    April 11, 2011 9:42 pm

    I think its coming my love!!! These are signs!! Yayyy 🙂
    I love your attitude towards it too, that even if it takes a couple more pounds its okay!

  8. April 11, 2011 10:32 pm

    I am getting weird signs too…these past few days I’ve had this insatiable hunger that I just can’t seem to fulfil! No matter how much I eat (i’m eating about a third more than I would usually eat in a day and that’s A LOT) I still feel famished. I have also been having the BIGGEST CRAVING FOR CHOCOLATE EVER!! SEriously…it’s like WOAH. If I could, I would eat in all fricken day long. But apparently we need other food too (boo) but this is just so weird for me. I used to be able to go at least a few days without the stuff and now it’s like my crack. I’ve also experienced little bits of cramping/achy boobies. We’ll see. I could just be looking into this way too much but, like you, I’m hoping that these are all good signs too 🙂

    xxx

  9. April 12, 2011 3:45 pm

    I don’t have any signs of a period coming because my period started back because of birth control, but I can say that I am SO proud of you Bry. You are doing so great. I can’t wait to get to the point that you’re at. I love your determination!
    And it sounds like you are well on your way to becoming a fully healthy/normal menstruating, beautiful woman 🙂

Leave a Reply

