Skip to content

Boredom Eating?

April 3, 2011

Yo!

How was your weekend? Wonderful, I hope.

So went back and re-read some of your comments on my previous posts. A few of you asked me questions, and I just want to let you know that I’ve answered all of the ones I saw. I hope they helped.

I am thinking of actually doing a Q & A. I saw this beautiful lady do something of the sort on her blog, and I really like the idea. If you have any questions about anything – body image, intuitive eating, my favorite brand of peanut butter, my current thoughts on nutrition, my hair care routine, how I was able to stop measuring food – just drop me a comment and I will gladly answer all of them at once in a later post.

So I ate a lot today. Not even intuitively. I was just bored. I had a 4 hour long break at ballet and I had nothing better to do. I feel like I should feel guilty for it, but I don’t at all. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy I don’t feel guilt for “boredom” eating, but the absence of the ED voice is strange.

Let me break my eats down, alright?

Breakfast: 3/4 rolled oats with truvia, some cocoa powder and vanilla, 3-nut butter, 1/3 pear, 1/3 banana, ton-o-strawberries, and some coconut butter. Oh, and I had a glass of milk too!

Lunch: Whole wheat pasta with tomato sauce, 1 mozarella cheese stick shredded in and a lot of parmesan cheese. Then I walked to the Dunkin Donuts near my studio and bought myself a donut. 2 fried doughs stronger now, eh? It was amazing. I also had some free samples – 2 cubes of carrot bread. Then I ate a potato chip. Yeah, I know one chip is not a big deal. But to be fair, yesterday, I had two handfuls. I also had 1/2 an apple  during the ride home.

The mess that was Dinner: a jumble of a chobani with special k and cheerios (all out of my beloved kashi go lean! :-() a clif bar, some pretzels, the rest of the apple, and 3 different nut butters: Artisana cacao bliss, 3-nut butter, and almond butter. Yum!

Snack: More pretzels, more nut butters, another clif bar, and 3 dates.

Hmm. Looking back, I didn’t eat all that much. I don’t really know then what made me so full. Oh well. One thing is for sure: I have not been lacking on my fats lately. I cannot tell you how great it feels to not measure my nut butters anymore. Or to eat potato chips. Or fried donuts. It is simply amazing!

Qs~

How do you feel about “boredom” eating?

What questions do you have for me?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    April 4, 2011 2:21 am

    Hey Bryana. I haven’t commented on your blog before, but I’m a long-time lurker (at least a month now I’m thinking?). I just wanted to step out and tell you how PROUD I am of your accomplishments! You’re truly an inspiration for all who are facing the same battle as you. Keep up the great work.

  2. time for happiness permalink
    April 4, 2011 6:40 am

    I used to boredom eat all the time, and to be honest it didnt do a thing to me and I really didnt even care, and that was before my ed. Now it seems like it is so off limits, but to hear you write that you really does help, especially that you are happy and not upset about it ***not that you should be, your right, its not alot of food at all!!*** but thanks for this, I have been a bit worried about being home now and now under such strict rule that I cannn eat whatever… this helped lotsss 🙂
    <333

  3. April 4, 2011 7:26 am

    I love how you were able to go and get yourself a donut!

    I’ve been eating out of boredom lately but that’s only because I’ve been doing a lot of baking recently so there is a lot of food that needs to be eaten anyway. I don’t really feel guilty as such…just strange because I’m not used to eating this way. I’ve always been so used to eating a certain times of the day because I’m hungry that when I eat outside of these times when I’m not even hungry, it just feels a bit odd. But it’s completely natural to do that so whatevs 😉

    xxx

  4. April 4, 2011 11:27 am

    I do feel guilty for eating out of boredom, but I have occasionally done it, and honestly, it didn’t hurt me at all. The guilt just came from ED, but it’s totally okay to eat for no reason every once in a while.

    Thanks for mentioning me 🙂 I love the Q&A idea so much so I’m so excited to see what questions you get! I have two: 1) How has your body image changed as your recovery has progressed? 2) What are your ‘staple’ foods that you eat all the time?

  5. April 4, 2011 2:07 pm

    Boredom eating is an issue I have mixed feelings on, but I think it’s a great step on the road to recovery when you can do it and not feel terribly guilty about it. After all everyone does it from time to time, so it’s actually NORMAL.

    Oh yah, and high-five for you for eating the doughnut 🙂

  6. April 4, 2011 7:57 pm

    Wow, Bryana. This post is incredible. I’m going to bookmark it and refer back to it when I’m struggling! It’s so inspiring to see you just eating for enjoyment.

    We’ve both talked about our past histories with binges and I think it is amazing you’re able to distinguish between a binge and just eating for pleasure. For years ed has convinced me that there is no grey area between starving and binging. Now he seems to have me convinced that exceeding my meal plan, even by only one exchange, is binging. It’s SO ridiculous though.

    You’ve shown in this post that eating can be just that, eating. It doesn’t have to be tied in with stress, weight, emotions, exercise, etc. It’s just eating! Thank you for sharing this! I admire how far you’ve come so very much. Really, you’re such an incredible inspiration to me! Keep it uuupp!!

    xxx

    P.S. Here are my questions for your post:

    1). Where do you like to shop??
    2). Do you have a favorite TV show that you simply cannot miss??
    3). How else, besides blogging and dance, do you relieve stress??

Leave a Reply

