Skip to content

Life is Good!

April 2, 2011

Happy Saturday!

I’ve got quite a lot to talk about and no pictures (sorry, I forgot to take any) so this might possibly get a bit boring. So, let’s get started.

First of all, I am so sorry that I haven’t been commenting on all of your blogs. I still read all of your lovely words, but I’m finding that I just don’t have time like I used to. I still hope to drop comments whenever and wherever I can, but please know that I am reading.

So, what’s been new with me? EVERYTHING!!!!

I had planned on making this post super long and detailed, giving you a play-by-play of the social aspect of this past week. But I decided not to. Honestly, the creative juices just aren’t flowing tonight. So here’s the summary:

I reconnected with three old friends. The first I went to elementary school with; we went to see Red Riding Hood together. The next friend was from my highschool. From now on, we’ll call him C, ok? It was a “sort of a date but not really a date” kind of thing. Have you ever had one of those? 🙂 We went to the mall Thursday evening. We both hate the mall, but there is absolutely nothing better to do in this boring-ass town. Anyway, despite not liking the place, I had so much fun. He’s incredibly sweet but very, very weird. I am weirder though, so it was ok. 🙂 I  think hope he had a good time too. Any guy who would spend four hours in a mall with me just talking must like me somewhat, I suppose. Right? Being there cut into my “dinner” time, but I just didn’t give a crap. I was having far too much fun to remember to care.

So that was Thursday. On Friday I met with the friend I mentioned in this post – I’ll call him AJ. We had plans to meet at Dunkin Donuts in the afternoon and go to the movies later in the evening. We walked from the DD in drizzling, 40 degree weather to a playground (ah, the playground…we are so mature!) and he pushed me on the swing while we talked. Gosh, it felt amazing to talk to him. He is one of my best friends, and is the only friend with whom I can talk about anything. I literally mean everything. Nothing is off-limits, and nothing is too awkward, inappropriate, or weird. And I am sure you can imagine that with us being teens, the conversations sometimes get a little insane.

Anyway, after the playground, my parents picked me up for dinner. A while ago, I got so upset because I was planning on going out to eat with them, but last-minute ED got the better of me. Well this time, I wasn’t taking his crap. I went out (it was the same sort of dinner through the University as last time) and enjoyed every bite. We started with a spinach salad with pine nuts and cranberries. That was one thing ED spoke up in. The oil in the dressing was a no-no, so I didn’t have any. Then we had an appetizer of butternut squash ravioli with a hazelnut, sage, and brown butter sauce. ED spoke up just one more time, and I asked for the ravioli without sauce. I ate 2.5 out of 4 of them. For my entrĂ©e, I had chilean sea bass with papaya and three-pepper salsa. It came with sautĂ©ed veggies and a potato-fennel gratin. I ate all of the fish and veggies and maybe 1/3 of  the potatoes. Dessert was yellow cake enrobed in some type of  chocolate frosting/sauce, which I ate half of. Just like last time, eating out left me with a huge stomach ache for the rest of the night. But while I was eating, I enjoyed it all and was very happy.

After dinner, I met up with AJ at the movies to see Limitless. Personally, I wanted to see Beastly but he wasn’t really up for that. He wanted to see something scary, like Insidious, but I do not do scary movies. So we compromised. The movie was ok. It was very action-filled…more of the kind of thing my dad would like. But it was alright. The lighting in the film was such that Bradley Coopers eyes were as light and bright blue as the sea, and I was entranced by them for much of it. That was good; it made up for the violent, bloody, killing scene which scared me so much I was practically in AJ’s lap with my head on his shoulder. What can I say? I am a wimp. When it ended my mom came and got us and I drove him home. I couldn’t tell if he was scared of me driving or not. 🙂

Later at night, my parents started having this argument/discussion that really upset me. They didn’t know I was eavesdropping. That was totally wrong of me, I know. So shhh, don’t tell them. But now I know some things that I can’t even ask about, because I am not supposed to know them. So what did I do at midnight when I was on the verge of tears and very anxious? I called my buddy AJ. Now may I remind you, this is a guy, a boy. And he was the one who suggested I call him to talk. I didn’t even know boys liked talking on the phone. So I talked with him in whispers for over an hour and hung up (only because the battery on my cell phone was flashing that it was dying) at 1:20 a.m. Can I just say, AJ is amazing. You know you have a true friend when he hangs out with you twice in one day and then lets you call him at midnight. I love him so much and am lucky to have him in my life.

Wow, that was a short summary. Not.

So that’s what’s new with me. I reunited with an old best friend and had more fun than I can describe. I hung out with a really cute and nice “maybe” boyfriend. I ate ravioli, oily fish, cheesy potatoes, and cake. And any trace of an ED that may have existed in the past was no longer there. I didn’t freak out because I missed dinner on Thursday because I knew the only thing that would happen was that I’d be extra hungry the next day. I survived 2 hours in the cold weather with nothing but a light jacket because I have my own weight to keep me warm now. I ate food prepared by others with ease. And I still had emotional energy left over to go out once again to see a movie with a friend. I do not know where ED is these days, as he only shows up 2% of the time. All I know is he is not in my head, and that is all I ask for. And as of right now, life is good. Life is really, really good.

Qs~

When was the last time you ate out?

How amazing are your best friends?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 4:54 am

    im so happy for you!! AJ sounds like a great guy!!!! i LOVE my best friends.. they are beyond amazing!! we went out friday night!

  2. April 3, 2011 5:21 am

    Aww AJ sounds like such an amazing friend! It’s so good that you’re being social again. Friends like AJ are very very hard to come by. Lucky you 🙂

    xxx

  3. time for happiness permalink
    April 3, 2011 6:40 am

    Ah this sounds so fun 🙂 How was limitless!? I want to see that one too!! I’m excited for you for all of this, and I know how anxiety provoking going out to dinner can be but practice makes perfect 🙂

    • April 3, 2011 10:41 pm

      Limitless was good. All in all, I liked it. I loved the plot and the execution was good. I’m just generally not one for action movies, which is why I didn’t LOVE the movie as a whole.

  4. April 3, 2011 1:29 pm

    That’s so amazing that you’ve got a friend like that who’s so supportive 🙂

    Actually, I “ate out” twice yesterday, I got some froyo with my dad and then we picked up Noodles & Co. takeout. And since it’s my dad’s birthday, we’re going to a mongolian stir fry place for lunch today. I’m very nervous for that, so we’ll see how it goes. I’m so happy for you that you were able to enjoy your dinner! And of course that ED is disappearing. That is soooooo great!

  5. April 3, 2011 10:37 pm

    I havent eaten out in such a long time…
    i used to find it easier.. now , not so much.

    best freinds? AMAZING ❤

  6. April 5, 2011 12:27 pm

    YAY! I am so happy for you having such a great time with some amazing friends 🙂 And the dinner out sounds amazing! Way to go for standing up to ED and not letting him get the best of you 🙂

    The last time I ate out was… probably last week some time? It has become relatively normal now, and I couldn’t be happier 🙂

    Hope you are having a great day today!

    Scott

Leave a Reply

