Skip to content

Eats and Inspirations

March 31, 2011

Hey hey! How are you all? I hope your day was wonderful!

I’ve got 2 things to share with you guys, hence the two topics in my title.

I don’t really want to talk about how I’m actually doing with food right now. I might save that for another day, but I’ll just let you know that everything is great. The measuring has 99.99% stopped; I eat what I want, when I want. If I had nut butter for breakfast and I don’t want any for lunch, that’s fine. If I do, then that’s great too, and I have some. And I don’t measure it. Nothing is restricted and nothing is off-limits anymore. What I really want to show you are a few recent (and not so recent) eats. I’ve got a ton of food pictures on my camera card that I want to finally unload. 🙂

I had this single-serve packet of granola a few weeks ago. It was so good! If you like chocolate, hazelnuts, and have a Target nearby, I highly suggest you buy this.

This is the colorful recipe I mentioned in this post. It’s a chickpea, sweet potato, and butternut squash curry. Let me know if you’d like the recipe and I’ll post it. But as for now, I’ll just show you a picture. I just love the colors, don’t you?

This was part of my lunch yesterday. It’s a purple sweet potato – same as in the curry above. 3/4 is topped with almond butter, 1/4 has soynut butter. For some reason, it didn’t taste good at all. The potato tasted partially like a regular sweet potato, but it was also very florally, like I was eating a bouquet of flowers or something. I couldn’t get past it, so I just scraped the butters off and mixed them into…

…this BOY. It had chobani, kashi go lean, and strawberries. Mmm, seriously, BOYs never get old for me. Speaking of BOYs:

This was yesterday’s breakfast BOY. It was cream of oatmeal (rolled oats ground in my coffee grinder until it became a flour of sorts) with a caramelized banana whipped in, chopped pear, and 3-nut butter (which is a mix of almond, peanut, and cashew).

Carrie? I have a confession…I love you!!!! You are such a freakin’ genius. Fudgies, people. If you’ve never had one, I don’t know if we can be friends any more. Make one, eat it, and like it. Then we can talk. 🙂 For those of you who have, come on over to my house and we’ll have a fudgie partaaaaaay! But seriously, OH MY GOODNESS! These babies are incredible! So effing delicious. I don’t really think I can describe how much I love these. I eat at least one a day, but I double the recipe so it’s extra big. So I guess technically I eat at least two a day! 😉

Home-made peanut butter cup! Double the fudgie recipe, put 1/2 on the bottom of a cupcake liner. Then, spread a blob – about 1/2 tablespoon – of your favorite peanut butter (or any nut butter for that matter) over that. Top with the remaining fudgie and freeze. I was impatient and left mine in the freezer for 1/2 hour, which is why it looks so mushy. At least it tasted good. I suggest leaving it at for least 3-4 hours, if not overnight. And yes, that is a halloween cupcake liner with ghosts and jack-o-lanterns. 🙂

Hey, who stole a bite from my fudgie!?!?!

I’ve been on a pasta kick recently. I’ve eaten it 6 times in the past week. These two are the same, except for the type of pasta. It’s chopped plum tomato mixed with the pasta, garlic, dried basil, 1 stick of mozzarella string cheese, and a crap ton of parmesan cheese.

So that’s it for the eats. Did they make you hungry?

About a month ago I started writing down quotes that I really liked on some post-it notes and stuck them on my dresser mirror. Since then I’ve written a bunch more and moved them from the mirror to the wall above my bed.

I took close-ups of each. So if you’re in need of some inspiration or just like to read nice quotes, check out my new Inspiration page. They sure make me happy. I hope they’ll make you happy too! 🙂

Qs~

Have you had fudgies? Do you like fudgies? How much do you LOVE fudgies?

An inspirational quote you’d like to share?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 3:18 pm

    I am OBSESSED with fudgies!!!!! I love experimenting with them and trying new flavors, like a dark chocolate orange fudgie. I’ll have to try that homemade peanut butter cup…with almond butter instead!

    That chickpea sweet potato squash curry looks amazing! But I’ve never seen of or heard of a purple sweet potato; too bad it wasn’t very yummy.

    My dad is actually in love with that granola. He loves all of Target’s granolas but that one especially. I’ve never tried it, since it’s sort of a fear of mine, but since you said it’s really good, I might have to try it 🙂

  2. March 31, 2011 9:31 pm

    I have a confession to make…….. I haven’t tried a fudgie 😦 I must try making them! Would you want to do a recipe post ;P

    And as per the usual, your eats look delish! I LOVE granola and that sounds great! Too bad the purple sweet potato wasn’t great :/ It would be so cool! Think about making fries or chips out of that for parties!

    And an inspirational quote… I like this one 🙂

    “It is often hard to bear the tears that we ourselves have caused.”
    Marcel Proust

    • April 3, 2011 10:33 pm

      Well Scott, you are missing out my friend. The link to the recipe is above. Make. Them. Now! 🙂

  3. April 1, 2011 3:04 am

    YAY so happy you like mah fudgies!!!!!!!! i love them too!!! and i love your pb cup!!! that looks tasty!! as well as that purple sweet tater!!!!

    • April 3, 2011 10:37 pm

      Yes girl, I luv your fudgies. With all my heart I think you are a genious! Seriously Carrie, amazing!

  4. April 1, 2011 11:36 pm

    oooh fudgies look good!! what are they??

    • April 3, 2011 10:38 pm

      Oh goodness, Sarah! Click the link. Make the recipe asap!!!! They are the most chocolatey, creamy bites of yum EVAR! So good!

Leave a Reply

