Skip to content

A List and A “Recipe”

March 22, 2011

Hello Lovelies!

First of all let me just say, “THANK YOU!”

Once again, your support and encouragement have rocked my world. Whether I have something interesting/important to say, or just some useless crap, you’re always there and always have my back. Even more than just loving the support I get, I get to learn more about YOU. Through the comments you leave, I get to know you better. I love learning more about who you are, whether it’s your latest ED struggle or whether you like nanner+nutters. Seriously, every little bit makes me smile.

And of course, I love reading all of your blogs too, and I love supporting you. But my life has been ca-razee these past few weeks, and I feel like I don’t have the time to comment as much as I would like to. Please know that even if I don’t drop a comment on every single post, I still read and enjoy all of your incredible blogs. I hope you can understand. And as much as I love getting comments from all of you, the last thing I want if for you to feel obligated to say something on every single post. I’m sure some days I post things that really don’t relate to you. Don’t feel like you have to say something. Only say what you want when you want. I don’t want you to feel like commenting is a chore – especially on posts that are irrelevant to you. I want it to be something you do when you want to voice your opinion on something.

And now onto my list. Because I sure do love lists. I want to share with you guys some posts and topics that I’ll be talking about in the near future:

  • Food rituals (which kind of goes back to OCD)
  • More about K
  • A delicious (and colorful) recipe
  • A page for my BOYs
  • Vlogs

I have wanted to do a vlog for forever, and for the longest I couldn’t figure out how to upload, but I think I finally have it down now. I’m thinking I’ll start with that pronunciation one (the way I pronounce certain words – such as data, aunt, caramel) and the one Carrie did with the 13 questions. I love vlogs because I love hearing how people talk, and I love being able to match their voice to their face. Love, love, love! So I’m hoping to get the first one up pretty soon.

Now how ’bout that “recipe”?  It doesn’t get much simpler than this. All you need is 3 ingredients and a blender. Put ’em together and what have you got? Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo Home-made larabars!

Guess what flavor it is. C’mon, guess!

I’ll give you a hint: one ingredient might be nanner, the other might just be nutter!

Are you surprised? (If you are, you haven’t been reading this blog very long, have you? :-))

Yup, my very first home-made larabar was peanut butter + banana flavored. Obviously.

I was kind of improvising the whole thing with the proportions of ingredients, and thankfully it came out just right!

Makes 1 bar:

  • 35g dates (about 2 large ones)
  • 15g roasted salted peanuts (about 2 tablespoons)
  • 1 teensie-weensie slice of banana (maybe a tad more than 1/8th inch thick?)

I just added the dates and peanuts to my magic bullet short cup, twisted on the flat blade, and blended. (I think a small food processor might work too.) When the dates were all mushed together and the peanuts were ground up, I added the banana. That little bit of banana was enough to flavor the entire bar. It also made the texture less like an actual larabar (read: sorta dry-ish) and more ooey-gooey and creamy. It was amazing. Like some type of dessert. A dessert high in flavor and fiber, vitamins, and healthy fats? I’ll take it!

I used to eat one or two larabars a day, and at about $1.50 each, they got pretty expensive. I’m so glad I’ve discovered this now, as it’s both much cheaper and much yummier. And the flavor possibilities are endless!

Qs~

Do you feel obligated to comment on certain blogs? Does it ever feel overwhelming?

 Have you ever had a larabar? Have you ever made your own at home?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 9:22 pm

    I don’t really comment on your blog a lot- not because I don’t love it or relate to a lot you say because I DO and I read every single post- but because like you said I don’t have the time or don want you to feel like because I read your blog you have to read mine. But I really LOVE your blog and everything that you have to say is incredibly helpful and interesting.
    I don’t really know what made me want to comment on this post… But I want to say that you are a great writer, so keep posting girl! Can’t wait for the vblogs!!
    Shannon

  2. March 22, 2011 11:46 pm

    I honestly do feel like I have to comment on some blogs because they commented on mine but now I’m realizing that it’s okay to take a break from commenting and no one will hate me! It’s just more fun commenting on something I have an interest in! The reason I comment on your blog so much is that it is really interesting to me and I love reading everything you have to say!

    I can’t wait to see your vlogs! I really want to make one, but I’m not quite sure how. Maybe you could do a vlog tutorial on how to make a vlog 😉

    I have NEVER had a Larabar! Yes I know I’m crazy, but I’ve just never been intrigued by them enough to pay that much money for them. I have had Pure bars, which are similar but cheaper and I love them. But I really want to try making my own and this recipe is so simple that I will definitely be making one soon! I’m thinking a chocolate almond raspberry combo…

  3. March 23, 2011 4:48 am

    i LOVE homemade larabars!! they are tasty and SO MUCH CHEAPER-hah!! love your flavor combo!!. OH YAYAYAYA please do a vlog and def the 13 questions one- it was fun! yeah… i subscribe to too many blogs.. but in the end I just comment and read the ones I truly love!- like yours ! 🙂

  4. March 23, 2011 5:52 am

    OMG I really hope you make a vlog soon!!! 😀 Sometimes I do feel overwhelmed with commenting on blogs but these days I only comment when I truly want to or when something is said that I need to comment on. I love commenting on your blog because I can relate to you so much. I see a little bit of myself in you, that sounds creepy, but I do.

    I must try and make my own larabar!!!

    xxx

  5. Alexandra permalink
    March 23, 2011 7:11 am

    larabars are SOOOOO expensive! but they’re so good! i’m glad your recipe turned out! my blender is kind of sucky and i never seem to be able to get nut:fruit ratios right when i try to make my own. now i need to get me some dates and make your recipe! i love ‘naners” too! ahah and you are so cute with your “naners and nutters” love you baby.

    xoxooxoox
    ALEXANDRA!

  6. March 23, 2011 4:01 pm

    Totally looking forward to your vlog! Hope you can get around to it soon.
    And since I can’t buy larabars here, so I will definitely try your recipe sometime (although I don’t know what it’s supposed to taste like I’m sure it’ll be good).

  7. March 24, 2011 4:49 pm

    Yeah, I can totally relate to feeling obligated to comment :/ I feel like in order to show that I care so much about the bloggers I read, I need to post something to let them know I care, but I know that is totally NOT true! You really are 200% right on this one 🙂

    And I LOVE larabars! I have got to try these homemade ones asap!

    hope you are having a great week!

    Scott

  8. March 24, 2011 6:42 pm

    I do feel obligated to comment on certain blogs, for example I’ve read every single one of your posts in the last week, but haven’t been able to comment. Needless to say, I am so proud of all the progress you’ve made and that you’re so close to your weight goal. You are amazing and I am so happy for you.
    Your Larabar looks amazing! I have to admit that I’ve been looking for a Larabar alternative, and really want to make one.

Leave a Reply

