Skip to content

Harry Potter Means Everything To Me!

March 20, 2011

I don’t know about you guys, but Harry Potter rocks my socks. To say the series defines my generation is an understatement. To me, the serious defines my life. I got the first 2 books as a gift, but I was too scared to read them. I was about 6 or 7 at the time, and almost everything scared me. So those books just sat on my shelf for years. I finally worked up the courage to read them in 4th grade (so age 9 or 10) and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. I fell head over heels in love with the story and its characters.

I remember creating these hypothetical situations for myself about the books. I’d ask myself, “Say  you could live for the rest of your life in Harry’s world. You could go to Hogwarts and eat candy from Honeydukes and buy a wand from Ollivander and ride a hippogriff or a broomstick. But, you would never see or hear from your current family or friends. To them, it would be like you never existed. Would you do it?” And I’d always answer that question with a “Yes!” It probably sounds a little extreme, but I still stand by that decision. That is how much that world within those pages means to me.

I’ve read every book least twice. I have seen movies 1-6 at least 5 times – though I’ve seen the 1st one about 30 times. I’ve been to 2 midnight premieres and saw The Deathly Hallows Part 1 at the movies twice in the same day. I can recite 99% of the lines to the 1st movie, and I can tell you exactly what events happened in which book. Harry Potter and his adventures provided such an escape for me whenever I needed it. It transported me to a world of wonder and excitement. While I was with Harry, I was happy. No matter what was happening in my real life (though this was pre-ED, so nothing too dramatic ever happened), Harry made me able to deal with it.

You may or may not know that the final Harry Potter movie comes out this July. It is the end of an era. This finale is so bittersweet; it will actually mean that Harry is finished. There will never be any more anticipation for the next book or movie release. All we will be left with are memories.  

Why am I bringing this up? Well, tonight it truly hit me for the first time that Harry is over. Done. A wave of new inspiration and enthusiasm (or maybe sadness and desperation) washed over me. I have decided that I will re-re-re-re-re-re-re-re-read the entire series. I want all of the memories that lie within those 7 books to come flooding back. I want to return to that place of pure happiness that I felt when I was in that world of Wizards. Harry Potter means everything to me, and I have never been in a happier place then when I read those books.

Oh, and I’m starting with book 1 tonight, so I’m going to be dorky and keep track of my progress on this bloggie. Every now and then I’ll post an update from now through when I’m done with The Deathly Hallows. We’ll see how long it takes! 🙂

Qs~

Have you read Harry Potter?

Do you like it? How much does Harry and his world mean to you?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 11:07 pm

    I love you even more for this.
    Harry Potter=my life.
    I’ve read every book at least 5 times. Obsession? Yes.
    I’m also planning on rereading the series before the next movie. We’ll see how school and other books get in the way, though.
    Anywayy, I gotta get back to watching HP5 🙂

  2. March 21, 2011 12:20 am

    Hi! So I started reading your blog a couple of weeks ago but haven’t had the courage to comment yet and I thought…why not ?! on today’s post because I feel like there is less pressure with a Harry Potter-related question. Sooo
    YES! I have read Harry Potter (and I may or may not own some of the audiobooks on CD too haha). And for me JK Rowling’s characters are special for two reasons
    one- they inspired me to really start reading when I was younger (and ultimately do well in school I think) and
    two-like you i found comfort in the books when i was sad or anxious but also enjoyed them on any old day. amazing that books can affect people so deeply!
    anyway- i love your blog and commend you on all the progress you’ve made since you started! i’ve just begun my recovery and can relate so much to your posts and thoughts. keep on truckin’ girl and happy reading!

    Mallory xoxo

  3. March 21, 2011 5:35 am

    i actually never got into harry potter! i think its because i really HATED reading when i was younger.. and sitll do hah.. so i just never wanted to read it!! but i did go to the world premiere of the first one, since it was in london! i know.. i live in the city of harry potter yet im just not into it!

  4. March 21, 2011 8:16 am

    I got the first Harry Potter book when I was in third or fourth grade. I saw the movie, and then started reading them in 6th grade after that, hehe..I remember reading the 5th one in about a day. I don’t read the Harry Potter books now or think much about them, but when I did, it made me happy.

  5. March 21, 2011 10:11 am

    I love Harry Potter too!! Haha I’m obsessed. The books are the best, but I will definitely be sad when the movies are over. 😦

    I used to have a huge crush on Daniel Radcliffe, lol. I would always come up with crazy scenarios where I would get to meet him!

    Can’t wait to hear about your reading progress!

  6. March 23, 2011 10:05 pm

    Love harry potter! I never did read them over though… I don’t know why :/

    Enjoy!

    Scott

  7. March 24, 2011 6:37 pm

    Love love LOVE Harry Potter. I own every movie, and book, and have read/watched each atleast twice(:

  8. Michelle permalink
    July 14, 2011 1:16 am

    I lost track after I knew I had read the first 5 books (the only ones that were out at the time) 8 times each.
    but that was 7 years ago.

    I took a 2 year hiatus after being traumatised by Dumbledore’s death but found myself crawling back, craving the magic that had been part of my life.
    Now, almost 10 years after I first fell in love with Harry Potter, the final movie is here. But I remain confident that it is not over, nor will it ever be. It has too strong a place in my heart and in the hearts of millions of others worldwide to be a forgotten phenomenon.

Leave a Reply

