Skip to content

Chicken+Rice Stir-Fry Casserole Thingamajig

March 16, 2011

Well, that’s what I’d call it anyway.

I was really craving a casserole type thing for dinner last night. I scanned a few blogs for casserole recipes to get a few ideas. I knew I wanted it to have rice, chicken, and chobani for creaminess.

So then I got to the stove and basically just threw those ingredients together with other things that sounded yummy.

  • 3/4 cup quick-cooking brown rice (I was hungry…and lazy. I didn’t want to wait)
  • 2/3 cup chicken stock
  • 3.7 ounces of chicken breast that I seared in the skillet
  • 1 thick slice of purple onion
  • 1/2 jalapeño (love the spicy!)
  • 1/2 mini-can of mixed veggies (again, lazy)
  • 1/2 a teeny-tiny baked sweet potato, cut into chunks
  • 2.5 ounces of chobani
  • chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper (to taste)

I set the rice cooking in a small pot. In the meantime, I sautéed my onion + jalapeño, seared the chicken, and nuked the potato in the microwave.  When it was cooked through, I cut the chicken into little strips and put it back in the pan. I added the rice, onion and pepper, mixed veggies, sweet potato, chobani and seasonings. I gave it a good stir so that the chobani coated everything evenly. I planned to bake it for 7-10 minutes, but I was way too hungry and didn’t want to wait. I poured it into my lovely square bowl, and dinner was served.

This was delicious, and all of the flavors came together really well. It was a bit on the dry side, and I accidentally overcooked the chicken (chewy chicken=no bueno), but all that aside, I knew I’d be re-making this.

Meh, it even looks dry.

 

Tonight, I made the recipe again, but with a few tweaks. And it came out so much better! The modifications are next to the original recipe:

  • 3/4 cup quick-cooking brown rice
  • 2/3  1 cup chicken stock
  • 3.7 3 ounces of chicken breast (it was all I had)
  • 1 thick slice of purple onion
  • 1/2 jalapeño
  • 1/2 mini-can of mixed veggies (left over from yesterday)
  • 1/2 a teeny-tiny baked sweet potato, cut into chunks
  • 2.5 3.5 ounces of chobani
  • chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper (to taste)

The end result was not at all dry, and just as flavorful as last night’s.

Sorry for the blurry photo.

  

So much creamier and oh-so-yummy! I love the flavor of the chobani in this. It adds the perfect amount of tang.

Ladies and Gent(s?), you’ve got to make this. It is divine. I usually don’t eat the same dinner 2 nights in a row, unless it’s a BOY, so the fact that I ate this more than once is proof of how delish it is.

So, go make this now. You won’t regret it. I promise!

 

Qs~

Do you like spicy food?

Uh…yes!

Do you eat the same meals over and over, or do you like to switch it up?  

I am food rut central over here. Breakfast is always an oatmeal BOY, lunch is usually a yogurt mess BOY, and dinner is usually a mini yogurt-BOY with a sandwich or more fruit. Yep…day after day. I’m telling ya’, rut central!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 11:07 pm

    Looks good! I like spicy and I do get into food ruts sometimes. Some things are just to tasty not to eat everyday, lol. It’s weird because sometimes I end up eating the same thing on the same day of the week – like oatmeal on Fridays and bagels on Mondays.

  2. March 17, 2011 2:30 am

    Looks yummy!
    And lately I can’t get out of eating oatmeal every morning and as a late night snack! haha
    Keep cooking Bry 🙂

  3. March 17, 2011 4:25 am

    this sounds delicious!! im usually not a huge spice lover (too harsh on my irish tastebuds!) but i love using spices!!

  4. March 17, 2011 10:25 am

    Yum! I LOVE spicy food too…the spicier the better!

    I definitely find myself in food ruts…like everyday since Saturday I’ve had an apple with lunch. But they’re so good it’s hard not too. And I’ve also been having Bear Naked Fit granola almost every day and two mornings in a row I had quinoa for breakfast!

  5. March 17, 2011 3:36 pm

    Food ruts are funny for me, because I get in them as much as I try to stay out of them. I am in a self-confessed breakfast food rut (oats in some form), but lunch and dinner vary. Also, snacks tend to become ruts – my most current being banana’s and almond butter. I tell myself at least it’s a healthy rut :D.

    • March 17, 2011 5:00 pm

      Oh, breakfast ruts (especially oatmeal) are so common for me. And I love bananas + almond butter. Or any nut butter. It’s one of the best snacks ever!

  6. March 18, 2011 12:48 am

    OMG I LOVE spicy food!! I’m craving something spicy now 😛

Leave a Reply

