Skip to content

ABC’s

March 13, 2011

The gala was a total flop for me yesterday. The performance was alright for the most part. I chose not to be a part of it this year, for the rehearsals where just starting when I was at a very low weight and I didn’t think I could handle extra ballet with all the eating I had to do. I had a great time watching all of my friends on stage, as well as some of the other pieces different teachers put together. But when I got to the reception, I started not feeling so emotionally well. And unfortunately, yesterday was not my lucky night. I spent $20 on raffle tickets and didn’t win a thing, while others one 2, 3, even 4 baskets. Well, that’s the last time I blow $20 on that. After the raffle I just went home. The party was supposed to end at 11 and it was 10:05 or so at the end of the raffle, and I just decided I had enough. Yeah, I’m thinkin’ next year I won’t stay for the party…

On the bright side, my trip to the Capezio store in NYC was very worthwhile. I got a pair of pointe shoes that are comfy – well, as comfy as being n your toes gets – a new leotard (though I really don’t need anymore :-)), 2 new pairs of tights, and a re-stock of the pointe shoe-sewing thread I use. I wore my new leo with one of the new tights today, and when it came time for rehearsal, I wore the new pointe shoes. I like them a lot; they gave me blisters, but I expected that. Switching brands and stuffing your foot into an unfamiliarly-shaped shoe will definitely cause rubbing. Once they break in a bit more they will be perfect.

Don’t mind the elastics hanging out every which way.

 

So many people at dance noticed both my leotard and shoes today. I was going to post a picture of myself in the leo, but I really don’t want to now. I think I look absolutely HUGE in it, and very, very round. Not necessarily fat, just round. Maybe another time. As for my shoes, so many girls asked me what kind they were, or told me that they looked really great on my feet. So obviously that made me happy.

I’m running on empty right now – which is why this post is so scrambled. I got home last night at 11 and by the time I ate and got ready for bed, it was 12:45…which was really 1:45 thanks to daylight savings time. So it was almost “2” when I fell asleep, and I got woken up at 8. 6 hours of sleep is nowhere near enough. 

I’ve noticed that  ABC thing going around for a while. I know I’m late, but I really want to do it. So here it is:

A. Age: Finally 16!

B. Bed size: Double. I love space!

C. Chore you hate: Putting clothes on hangers. When I put away clean laundry, some clothes I fold and put in my closet, and some clothes are hung. The action of putting a shirt on a hanger in a pain in my b-u-t-t. Hate it. Oh, and washing dishes. It is so nasty and ALWAYS grosses me out.

D. Dogs: I love dogs. I am 60% cat person and 40% dog person. If I didn’t have my cat, I’d have a dog!

E. Essential start to your day: Um, is that question for real? Breakfast. Obviously.

F: Favorite color: Purple everything.

G. Gold or silver: Gold.

H. Height: 5′ 3 + 1/4. I’m short and I love it.

I. Instrument(s) you play(ed): None now, but I played the cello and the piano.

J. Job title: Uh…teenager?

K. Kids: Yes, I am a kid. I’m pretty sure I’m 6, not 16. 🙂 

L. Live: In the US of A.

M. Mom’s name: is Hungarian.

N. Nicknames: At home: none. With Hungarian family: Brini, Brinike, (-ke is a like a cutsie term of endearment) Brinci-cica (cica=kitten), Brini-mini. At dance: Bry-Bry, Bra-nay-nay, Bry-na-na.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Never, thankfully. Let’s keep it that way!

P. Pet peeves: Way too many to list all of them. But some are people who text while driving, people who walk really slowly and I can’t get around,and when people are always late to everything.

Q. Quote from a movie: How ’bout scene from a movie? Best scene EVAR!

From My Cousin Vinny. Vinny is a defense attorney, and he going hunting with the prosecuting attorney on the case he’s working on. His fiance is not happy about it.

 

R. Righty or lefty: Righty

S. Siblings: Nope, just me.

T. Time you wake up: 8 a.m.

U. Underwear: Yeah… I don’t get this one. But I wear it…

V. Vegetables you don’t like: I absolutely cannot stand curly endive and arugula in my salads. There are some fruits that taste like veggies that I also dislike: green bell peppers, tomatoes, and avocados. I used to hate zucchini, but now I love it.

W. What makes you run late: Not me. Other people whom I must rely on to drive me places. *cough* Daddy *cough cough*

X. X-rays you’ve had: On my feet to make sure nothing major was causing my posterior tibial tendon pain. And my teeth as part of a routine dental exam.

Y. Yummy food you make: Oatmeal, definitely. But I’m a pretty mean baker, if I do say so myself.

Z. Zoo animal favorites: I haven’t been to a zoo in this country in years, but I go to the Budapest zoo every time I’m in Hungary. I love the petting zoo, because the teeny-tiny baby goats are so adorable!

Well, that was fun. 🙂

Oh, and thank you guys so much for your comments on my last post. All that kindness is exactly what I meant.

 

Qs~

What is your favorite compliment you’ve heard from people?

Does doing the dishes gross you out?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 8:59 pm

    Ah, I hate how shoes always give you blisters in the beginning, but then they get broken in and feel all perfect after, lol. It’s like a necessary evil XP.
    I’m the type of person that doesn’t know how to handle compliments…hehe >.> But yesterday, I went to my teachers (an acupuncturist) and another lady stopped by to see him too, and she said to me (in her Chinese accented English) “Oh, you gained weight. Your face much more pretty.” *motions to her face* “You were too thin before, now you’re more pretty! Gain more weight, be more pretty!” Lol. I wouldn’t say that’s my favorite compliment, but it made me feel kinda happy. Washing dishes doesn’t gross me out, but that’s because my Grampa is weird about dishes..basically the dish has to be washed before you wash it…

    • March 14, 2011 12:12 pm

      I’ve gotten a few compliments about my weight gain too. I agree. In a strange way, it does feel really good.

  2. March 13, 2011 9:46 pm

    I’m sorry you didn’t have the best time at the gala but sometimes it’s much better to just leave early when you’re not having fun instead of forcing yourself to stay in that situation. But I’m glad the pointe shoe fitting went well and I love the shoes 😀

    Omg I hate doing the dishes. Worst chore ever! It’s so disgusting!

    I think the best compliments I’ve gotten are about my clothes and sense of style. I love when people notice that I put some effort into dressing nice.

    • March 14, 2011 12:13 pm

      I think so too; it is really great when people notice the effort put into looking good.

  3. March 13, 2011 9:46 pm

    I’m sorry that the gala was a flop. I hope that next year you have more success with it. The shoes look awesome! I’m sure you don’t look huge in your leo. You look HEALTHY. And ED must not like that very much. The best compliment I’ve recieved was that I was a ray of sunshine(: I actually love washing the dishes!

  4. March 14, 2011 4:53 am

    ah so sorry about the gala girlie!!! hey we’re the same heigh .. WOOT! i used to hate being short but now i LOVE IT.. we can just about pull off anything… and we’re all cute and fun sized 😀

    • March 14, 2011 12:14 pm

      Yes, agreed! That 1/4 of an inch is really important to me, but other than that, I have this sense of pride telling people I’m “only 5’3.”

  5. March 14, 2011 6:35 am

    Lame that you didn’t win any raffle prizes but at least the money went to a good cause 🙂 Yay for new pointy ballet shoes! I couldn’t believe that it was you in that picture. I’m just so amazed at how ballerinas can stand on their toes like that. I just don’t get it haha.

    Yaaay! Another purple fan. I love purple. It’s the best color ever 😉

    Doing dishes doesn’t gross me out. But the feeling of scrubbing a plastic chopping board with a cloth really sends chills up my spine. I HATE that feeling!

    xxx

    • March 14, 2011 12:16 pm

      That’s what my mom said, “well, you’re supporting your school.” Sigh…
      Oh, and I hear that from non-dancers all the time, “How can you stand like that? Doesn’t it hurt? Is it hard to balance? I think it’s so cool!” Honestly, I love the amazement people have, so thank you!

  6. Laura permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:36 am

    Sorry you didn’t win any raffle prizes yesterday 😦 I was hoping for you that you’d get something. The shoes look really nice, though.
    Ew, washing dishes grosses me out so much! When I was little, I went to Girl Scout camp and they made us wash everyone else’s dishes, too. I can remember gagging while I did the dishes. I still have an aversion to sponges and will never wash anyone else’s dishes, especially if there is pasta sauce and meat involved (they just look too gross when you wash them off the plate and they’re floating in the water *shudders*).

    • March 14, 2011 12:19 pm

      Ooh gosh, that’s the worst. I can barely get though washing my own dishes. Doing other people’s is hell. Yup, I can’t touch sponges or wet dishcloths either. My parents don’t understand it and get annoyed if I start crying if I accidentally touch one. But to me it is plain ole NASTY!

  7. March 14, 2011 2:57 pm

    Haha… I wish I could afford to hate doing dishes. I do them far too often to care. Although washing greasy dishes freaks me out as well… ewww

    Short people rock!!!

  8. March 14, 2011 3:36 pm

    It used to bother me when people would say how “healthy” I’m looking, but I’ve learned to accept it as a compliment and not as, “you’ve gained weight & are on the road to obesity” 😛 ha

    And I am amazed at your ballet skills! Standing on your toes like that is so impressive.
    P.s. I’m sure you look wonderful in your leotard. Don’t worry 🙂

    And I grew up without a dishwasher, therefore I was it. No bueno when people don’t soak their dishes after using them and you have nasty crusty stuff :/

    Hope you’re having a great week so far 🙂
    ❤ Haley

    • March 16, 2011 10:04 am

      Ooh, that’s pretty bad too, the crusty gunk that’s left on all night to dry. Eewie!

  9. March 14, 2011 8:42 pm

    I am sure you looked great in your new leotard 🙂

    And luckily I don’t get grossed out by dishes. I wouldn’t have a job!

    Scott

  10. March 15, 2011 11:14 am

    Hey girly!

    I’m sorry to hear the gala was a flop, but it’s exciting to know you had such fun shopping! I’m sure you looked great in your leotard, that’s just crazy stupid ed telling you otherwise. Don’t listen to him! He doesn’t know what he’s talking about. Also, LOVE the new shoes! Ballet shoes are so pretty. You must have strong toes, girly! hehe. It always amazes me how ballerinas can stand like that…ouch! : o

    Love you, girl!
    Sarah

    • March 16, 2011 10:05 am

      Thanks Sarah. I looked at the pics again and again thought I was too big. Oh well, maybe some other pictures some other time? When ED is a bit more quiet.

Leave a Reply

