Skip to content

I Used to Be Okay with Needles…

March 8, 2011

Until this morning’s little fiasco!

But, before I get to that, there are 2 things I want to show you guys!

Sunday it was pouring rain all day – so sorry about the bad quality photos. A couple of hours after I got home from dance, I was down in the kitchen with my dad. Suddenly he shouts, “Look outside, quick!” I ran over to the door (we have a glass sliding door leading out of the kitchen and out onto the deck), looked out into the backyard, and saw these guys. Having deer in our yard is not unusual. My neighborhood is practically a zoo, with animals roaming around everywhere.  So far I’ve seen deer, squirrels, groundhogs, possums, raccoons, skunks, mice, turtles, rabbits, hawks, wild turkeys, and a fox. So the deer were by no means out of the ordinary. But they were cool to see all the same!

So cute!

Before my dad called me over to show me the deer, I was starting to cook dinner. Back in September, Janetha posted a recipe for healthy mac & cheese. I had wanted to try it since then and finally got around to it on Friday. I based my version off of that recipe, but I divided all the ingredients by 2 2/3.

Hey, I wanted 3 ounces of pasta and the recipe calls for 8 ounces, so I had to divide everything by 2 2/3. Anyway, it turned out well, but there were some measurements I wanted to tweak to make it better. Fast forward to Sunday night. I made a few adjustments, and it came out even yummier than before.

Single serving Mac & Cheese:

  • 3 oz pasta (I used whole wheat catanisella lunga)
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
  • 70 grams – 5/8 cup – non-fat cheddar cheese (use whatever fat percentage you like)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Boil the pasta. While it cooks, combine the cottage cheese and pumpkin and blend until smooth. I recommend using an immersion (hand) blender if you have one. If not, a food processor should work.

Initially I tried using my magic bullet, but the mix wasn’t liquidy enough to purée properly. Then I transferred the mixture to the food processor, but it wasn’t voluminous enough to blend all the way either. Oh well, my cottage cheese was just a little chunky the first time. The second time, I used my immersion blender which seemed to work much better.

When the pasta is done cooking, strain it, and dump it into a large mixing bowl. Add the cottage cheese + pumpkin and about 2/3 to 3/4 of the cheddar cheese. Mix well, until all the noodles are evenly coated. Season with salt and pepper if you’d like. Pour into a casserole or baking dish. Mine was 6×6 (I think), but it was just a smidge too large, as you can tell by the lack of pasta in one corner. 🙂 Cover with foil and bake in a 350 degree oven for 9 minutes. Then, remove the foil and bake for another 4-5 minutes, until warmed through. Enjoy it steaming hot, straight from the baking dish! 

For 2 years ED convinced me I didn’t like pasta all that much, but…who am I kidding? I love pasta. Before the ED, it was one of my absolute favorite foods. With this I had a bowl of chobani with strawberries, banana slices, and kashi go lean. It was a super delicious dinner! 

Now, on to my title. I had blood drawn today. Yuck, I know.

This is the 5th time I’ve had this done. The first was to check to see if I had any food allergies. That result was inconclusive, but the doctor decided that something was wrong and I had gluten intolerance. I went to a different doctor for a second opinion, and she ordered another blood test, which came back to show that I was in fact not intolerant of gluten. So I didn’t eat any form of wheat for about 6 months, only to find out I could have. Oh well. In fact, I’m neither allergic to nor intolerant of any food. Yay!

The third test was for vitamin levels. My vitamin D was a little low, so a few months later I went back for the fourth time to get the levels checked again. This time it was higher, on the very low end of normal. The test today was to re-re-check the vitamin D levels. The previous 4 times I’ve had blood drawn, everything went fine. It never hurt, just a small pinch. And I only had a teeny-tiny cut afterwards, nothing more. Today, the woman jabbed the needle in, and as she did so my mom asked, “Fáj?” or “Does it hurt?” I said that it did, and she looked surprised. “I’m sorry. It doesn’t usually, does it?” she asked. I answered, “No, it doesn’t.”

So right from the start I knew there was something wrong. My mom also had to get blood drawn for something, and when the same woman stuck the needle in my mom’s arm, she seemed fine. When I asked her if it hurt, she said no. At this point my puncture wound cut was throbbing a little. This was another sign that something was wrong, as in the past, it didn’t hurt afterwards. I should mention that my mom dragged me out of bed at 6:10 (I get woken up at 8am) to get there when they opened so we wouldn’t have to wait in a line. So this was all happening at about 6:50, I was still half asleep, and for all I knew, I was imagining the pain.

Nope, it was real. When I got home at 7:05, I took the gauze and tape off the puncture wound cut to find that it was very swollen and bruised blue. Lemme tell ya, I was freaked out!!! That had never happened before, and what was more, my mom’s arm was fine. I was scared the technician had seriously damaged a major vein or something. I though it would get worse and worse, and I would internally bleed to death.

Hypochondriac? Me? No way! Ok…maybe  little. But can you blame me for getting worried at the gruesome sight that was on my right elbow, when nothing of the sort had ever happened to me the other times?

Notice the swelling? And you can somewhat tell that it’s blue too.  

How ’bout that bump? I got a nice little side view of it. And this wasn’t the worst of it. By the time I took the picture, the swelling had gone down quite a bit; it was much worse earlier. Oh, and disregard the toilet paper. This was taken in my bathroom because the natural daytime lighting is great in there.

Ah, now you can really see the blue. Gross, huh? And painful. The good news is that the swelling is 99% gone, and it is lookin’ less blue. I wonder what the hell the woman did to my vein to make this happen. I can tell you one thing for sure: I am really not looking forward to the next time I have to get stuck with a needle!!!

Oh, and Carrie is hosting a giveaway, so hop on over to her blog for a chance to win some yummy stuff! 

Qs~

Do you have a lot of animals roaming around where you live?

Do you have any food allergies?

Have you ever had blood drawn?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 6:21 pm

    Yummmmm 🙂 I don’t have any allergies, thank goodness!

  2. March 8, 2011 6:43 pm

    Ouch! 😦 I’m glad the swelling’s gone down but I don’t blame you for not wanting to get blood drawn–I hate getting it done! I’ve had it done twice, once when I fractured my ankle and also when I was diagnosed with anorexia, they had to check my blood to see if I had any other conditions that caused my weight loss but obviously there wasn’t. I hope I don’t have to get any drawn anytime soon!

    I live in a forested area with mostly pine trees so I definitely see a lot of animals, like deer and squirrels and hummingbirds. Last summer it was scary though because there was a bear in our yard! I didn’t go outside for a week!

  3. March 8, 2011 9:27 pm

    Ouch!! Gah, that looks so sore! I’m glad it’s getting better though! I watch way too much reality medical shows, so I always have a fear of crazy things happening to me when I get simple things done, like having blood drawn. I don’t even like to get shots because I’m terrified the needle will break off inside my arm or something…ahhh! yuck.

    That mac and cheese looks so good! I love you how cut down the recipe, I always do that too. I like to make single servings of things and that requires using fractions quite a bit : ).

    You seem to be doing so well Bryana and I am SO proud of you. Hearing about your eats encouraged me alot tonight. I have been slipping with my eating lately and reading/seeing what you’ve had lately has made me realize that I need to step it up again. Keep pushing forward girl, you’ve got this!

    xxx

  4. March 8, 2011 10:43 pm

    I’ve gotten blood drawn alot…I don’t know why, but I remember them when I was a little kid. I remember that one of the nurses did something similar to me when I was maybe in kindergarden. I remember my mom getting worried when she saw the woman doing it-I wasn’t so much, since as a little kid I thought it was supposed to hurt, but when I saw my mom’s reaction I got kinda scared. The woman did something wrong, (my mom said she was like..moving the needle) I just remember my arm being black and blue after as well as swollen, and being promised (and getting) a Mc Donalds hot fudge sundae as consolidation xP I can count at least 8 times I think, that I’ve gotten blood drawn in the last…4 years? Another time the lady scared me; the needle fell out of my arm and she was like “oops!” and jabbed it back in real fast. O_o I think she was high..I told my mom..she said she thought so too, but didn’t want to scare me!

  5. March 9, 2011 2:42 am

    AHH!! im so sorry- i HATE NEEDLEs.. just thinking about them makes me feel so so sick- that is a nasty little bruise! definitely not something I’ve seen before! hope it heals quick!

  6. March 9, 2011 3:09 am

    Your mac n cheese looks awesome! I’ve only ever had it once, would you believe? You can make me some, though 😉

    Crikey, I cannot stand needle talk. I had to scroll quickly past your pictures because that’s how sensitive I am to the topic. Eek! That’s another bad thing about having an eating disorder is I was ordered to have regular blood tests…worst.thing.ever. I’m so glad that stage is over!

    I’m only mildly allergic to lactose but other than that, I’m not aware of any other allergies.

    xxx

  7. March 9, 2011 6:09 pm

    pumpkin in pasta! I would’ve never thought of that!!

  8. March 9, 2011 8:59 pm

    our medical history is so so similar! I too had low vitamin D levels, and they thought I may be celiac (gluten intolerant) But it turns out I am not either. I think the gluten free diet wasn’t that bad though you know? I like trying new grains!

  9. March 9, 2011 10:48 pm

    OOOH! Deer are so pretty and cute! Sometimes friendly too, believe it or not! Ouch, that looks painful! I get that after getting my blood drawn too. It doesn’t matter who it is….my arm always swells up, turns blue, and aches for at least a full day. not fun stuff! I hope your vitamin D levels are better! I just got my blood drawn to re-check my Vitamin D too….I hope it is better now that I have gained weight! Oh and that mac-n-cheese looks awesome!

  10. March 10, 2011 6:00 pm

    Ah! That looks like it hurt. I hope that it feels better soon. I’ve had blood drawn once and it wasn’t that bad but I was terrified. I looked the other way the entire time.
    That mac and cheese looks so yummy! It is a huge fear food for me but the fact that you’ve been able to try it has given me motivation to try it myself.
    Thanks girl, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

