Skip to content

Sweet 16 at The Plaza!!! Part Three

March 4, 2011

I got my permit today.

I had the last lesson with instructor, and now I have my permit, am insured, and can legally be on the road. It’s such a great feeling. I went on the highway both today and yesterday (though they were different highways) and the feeling of going 55-70 mph is incredible.

Yesterday, I almost got into a car crash. I was doing 60 miles per hour going behind a truck. I had been doing 70, but George told me to slow it down to give the truck some space. So I did. We were coming up to the exit before the one we needed, when out of nowhere, this random car cut me off at about an 80 degree angle. The driver was almost going completely perpendicular to me in an effort to make it to his exit. There was another car on the exit ramp at that moment, so the car cut me off, and then slowed down right in front of me for a second before squeezing in behind the other car on the ramp.

Holy shit! I was going at 60 miles per hour, and a car decides to come out of nowhere and slow down in front of me to about 35-40? Nuh-uh, not cool man! And how oblivious – or just plain stupid – do you have to be to pull a move like that on a student driver? Really? It was plainly spelled out on the sides and top of the car. STUDENT DRIVER. It was my second day ever behind the wheel, and the jack-ass almost totalled the car. In the student driver cars, there is a brake pedal on both the driver and passenger side. I’m glad we were paying attention as both of us slammed on our brakes.

I am not exaggerating: we missed the car by about 6 inches. Fortunately today there were no accidents, no close calls. And now I’m allowed to drive…hopefully to ballet class tomorrow morning!

So now I’ll just quickly go through the last of The Plaza pictures, ok?

After dinner at Whole Foods, we headed back to the room. This was the elevator floor:

Gorgeous, huh?

 

When we got back to the room, there was a little surprise waiting for us.

While we were gone, the housekeeper had come in and turned down the bed. Someone had also left us a humongous chocolate and sprinkle covered apple, and two chocolate-drizzled shortbread cookies.

I immediately plopped down and turn the tv on to Family Guy. Then I changed into my pajamas, flopped on the bed, and opened a present.

Reading the sweet card my dad wrote me and trying not to cry!

  

I got a beautiful necklace which I will take a picture of and show you guys later.

The next morning we woke up to a complimentary New York Times hanging in that bag on our door:

There was a crossword puzzle in the newspaper that I was very absorbed in…as you can tell! 🙂

Then, we got dressed and headed out to take pictures in and around the hotel!

Posing with The Plaza umbrella that I found in the closet.

 

The Eloise Dinner menu. So cute! 🙂

 

Key card and key card envelope.

 

Reflection of the hotel in the building next door.

 

The Plaza’s Rolls Royce.

 

Gigantic stuffed bear doorman. He was on sale for only $1,000. 😉

 

The Palm Court

 

After we wandered around and took all those pictures, we checked out and went home. I ED wasn’t ready for the afternoon tea yet. Most of the food they serve is pastries, and I just didn’t think I could handle that yet. But it’s ok. I would much rather wait and then be able to enjoy my scone or cupcake, than struggle through it now and feel guilty later.

So, that concludes the three posts it took to recap a 2 day trip. I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

Qs~

Have you ever been in a car crash? Or almost in one?

Thankfully, I’ve never been in an accident before. I have almost gotten in accidents a couple of times, the closest call being yesterday.

Have you read the Eloise series?

Yes, yes, YES! I have every single book. They bring back such happy memories of my childhood. Really, Eloise is so special to me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 11:53 pm

    I am only aware of the name “Eloise” and something about a mischevous little girl that lived in a hotel, but didn’t even know it was a book, lol.
    I have “almost” been in a car crash many a times. I have been in a car crash before my freshman year of high school, on the way to a field trip in my teachers car. Her car was totaled. We were okay for the most part. Lots of adrenaline, and soreness the next day..and I may or may not have remembered what month it was or the peoples names in my hotel room when I woke up >.>

  2. March 4, 2011 11:58 pm

    I seem to be commenting a lot on the driving, but that a was a big deal, as I’m sure it is for anybody. Actually, i have been in a crash. The drivers ed car was rear ended while I was sitting in the back. Lucky me was so relaxed and out of it though that I suffered no injuries while the instructor and the poor girl driving did. That must have been so freaky almost getting into a crash like that!

    I have not read the books, but I’ve seen the movies. Love the movies. Cute story.

  3. March 5, 2011 3:20 am

    Congrats on getting your drivers permit! I’m almost 21 years old and I still can’t drive! So glad you didn’t get into a major accident aswell. That sounds so scary.

    The plaza looks so breathtaking. If that were me, I wouldn’t want to leave! Oh, by the way, good choice in TV program. Family Guy is awesome 😉

    xxx

  4. March 5, 2011 3:46 am

    Wow that hotel is gorgeous. I loooove fancy hotels.

    And I’ve never been in a serious car accident. The worst has been bumps and scratches from other careless drivers and thankfully I was never behind the wheel even then. Hopefully I can keep it that way 😛

  5. March 5, 2011 2:21 pm

    Yay for getting your permit! That’s so exciting!

    I love all your pictures of the Plaza, it looks gorgeous, and I love your dress, too! I have never read the Eloise books but I have seen two of the movies.

    Thankfully, I’ve never been in a big accident, but one time we went to a 4th of July parade and we were trying to find parking. This huge truck in front of us suddenly started backing up and my dad kept honking but the guy backed into the front of our car. We weren’t hurt but the car’s engine started smoking on the way home!

  6. March 5, 2011 9:24 pm

    Yaaayy you got your permit! Congrats, that’s so exciting!

    I love your pics so much, you are glowing in every single one. I am so happy you were able to enjoy this birthday trip and time with your family. It’s these good things in life that remind us how important it is to stay healthy! There are so many experiences to be had and places to be seen! : )

    Love you, girl!
    xxx
    Sarah

  7. March 6, 2011 9:19 am

    What a scary drive! I am so glad you are ok! Similar things have happened to me, it seems like drivers here are terrible :/

    And BEAUTIFUL pictures! That seems like such a great place 🙂

    Scott

Leave a Reply

