Skip to content

Sweet 16 at The Plaza!!!

February 27, 2011

But first, I have something to share with you. 

Last  Friday after I posted, my friend S (the same chica whose “party” I went to in January) came over with her mom to give me my presents. I forgot to take pictures of any of my presents but I will soon! Anyway, they left at about 8:50, and after that, I made hummus. But this was no ordinary hummus. I give you:

Peanut Butter Chocolate-Chip Cookie Dough Hummus!!!

Who says beans can’t be sweet?

I read the original recipe and four spin-offs, and then took elements of each and made my own. In the mix of my version was,

  • 1 1/3 cups canned, drained chickpeas, peeled (I peeled mine, but I really don’t think it’s necessary)
  • 3 packets truvia (you can use less or more, and whatever sweeter you want – stevia, splenda, sugar, maple syrup, honey – just adjust to taste)
  • 1 tablespoon Smucker’s creamy peanut butter
  • Pinch o’ salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • a drizzle of water
  • 1 tablespoon mini chocolate chips

I dumped everything but the water and chocolate into my food processor. I blended for about a minute or two, and added the water to smooth things out. Once the mixture became a smooth, creamy paste, I folded in the chocolate chips. The whole serving was a bit more than 1/2 cup – I’d say it was more like 2/3. I ate it all.

Girls, seriously, this stuff will be reappearing in my diet from now on. It tasted straight-up like pb choco-chip cookie dough! There is absolutely nothing wrong with eating cookie dough as a treat. But if you are like me and may want to start eating it every single day, this is the way to go. The nutrition stats are incredible, and I feel happy about putting all of that goodness into my system! This cookie dough was really great on apple slices. I also spread it on pretzels, which was the best choice I could have made. Its like peanut butter-filled pretzels meet chocolate-covered pretzels. Not a fan of pretzels? Try a banana sandwich!

Excuse the bread-crumby, jelly stained cutting board. I had also made a pb&j!

 

It’ll be good on whatever you choose to spread it on. I promise!

Now, how ’bout some birthday recaps? My hair appointment was at 11. I live about 40 minutes away if there’s no traffic, but we planned to leave at 9:40 to make sure we had enough time to get gas and find parking. We actually left at 10:10. But no worries, we got gas, found parking within 5 minutes, and made it to the salon on time. I hadn’t planned on changing my hair color, but my roots had grown so much, and the dyed part of my hair was turning orange-ish. Thankfully, the woman who cuts my hair, Melissa, suggested we fix it up.

Random sidenote: she has the heaviest Queens accent I’ve ever heard (aside from Fran Drescher), but I love it! People from the NJ/NY area get very particular about their accents. The upstate NY/NYC/North Jersey is totally different from South Jersey, Brooklyn, The Bronx, and Queens. But I’ll get into that another day.

I was so lucky, because my mom agreed to spending the extra money and the colorist was available! So enough with my chit-chat. I’ll show you instead! 🙂 But I’m warning you: I look ridiculous in most of these pictures. Feel free to laugh!

Sorry it’s blurry. I just wanted you to see my hair’s length when the curl is pulled straight! Oh, and they cut hair dry here. Because curls are so much longer when wet, they leave it natural and dry so they don’t accidentally cut it too short.

 

Ugh, this is an embarrassing one, hair dye at my roots! But I did have some iced tea! I didn’t drink all of it, but I had a few sips!

 

All dry!

 

Putting my earrings back in.

 

Finished!!! 🙂

 

It was about 1:30 at that point, and I was starving.  We headed toward the bakery, which was about a 20-25 minute walk away. We were more than halfway there when I spotted a Pinkberry. I have been craving frozen yogurt like crazy and dying to taste some of Pinkberry’s.  I am very happy to report that ED made little to no appearance this entire weekend. I was anxious about the soft-serve, but I asked for the detailed nutrition info, and once I read that, I was calm to enjoy.

I got a medium. It was 8 ounces, instead of a small, which is 5 oz. Frozen yogurt and a size that’s not small? Take that ED!

I got 1/2 pomegranate and 1/2 chocolate. Toppings were blueberries, raspberries, and honeydew. The melon was really ripe and flavorful. I still don’t like cantaloupe, but my honeydew! 😉

My mom got a small, 1/2 blood orange and 1/2 chocolate with blackberries and raspberries. My dad didn’t want any for some reason…

 

Mmm, so good!

 

So I’ll leave it at that for the first recap. After lunch we checked into the hotel and just chilled there for a while. I took hundreds of pictures and I’m pretty sure I got ever square inch of our room. But my computer is being reeeeeaaallly slooow, it’s 9:55, and I still have to make a snackie before bed. I have to get enough rest because tomorrow at 10 (and if everything goes according to plan – yeah rain, I’m lookin’ at you. You’d better not mess this up!) I’m going out to DRIVE!

I’ll finish recapping tomorrow I hope. I can’t wait to show you the inside of this hotel. It was insane!!!

Qs~

Have you ever had Pinkberry? Or any other “healthy” frozen yogurt?

This was my first time. So good! 🙂

Do you like hotels?

Hotels generally gross me out. I hate not knowing what kind of people slept in the bed or used the toilet before me. But for some reason, I was really calm about The Plaza. Everything looked clean, and for once, the sheets didn’t have a single hair in them!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 2:13 am

    i LOVE your hair!! it looks fab!! and I’ve made that pb hummus.. SO SO GOOD!!!

  2. Hedda permalink
    February 28, 2011 2:46 am

    Congratulations beautiful ^^
    I’m so happy you had a wonderful time – and how fun to pay a visit to the saloon.
    Your hair is absolutely amazing, and so are you 🙂

    Awesome that ED didn’t try to ruin this trip for you, you deserve to live with a free and healthy mind every single day. If I could give you one birthday present, it would be that.

    Stay strong, you are incredible.

    • February 28, 2011 10:06 pm

      Thanks Hedda! I wish an ED-free life were wrappable. But I am working towards getting there either way! You are so sweet with your encouragement!

  3. February 28, 2011 5:02 am

    Your hair looks gorgeous! As do you of course 😉 I am so jealous of your curls, too!

    That hummus looks amazing, Bryana! I MUST make that as soon as I get some chickpeas.

    I’m so glad you were able to enjoy your frozen yoghurt and get what you wanted 🙂 I’ve only had frozen yoghurt a couple of times. We don’t have big stores like that devoted to just ice cream or anything like that. We just get things like that at the dairy down the road (a corner shop, if you will).

    I LOVE hotels but I HATE sleeping in them. I can never fall asleep because either the pillows are too uncomfortable or the people next door are being too noisy.

    xxx

    • February 28, 2011 10:08 pm

      Haha, the noisy people in the neighboring rooms always crack me up. I’ve gotten up on a couple of chairs and banged on the ceilings to try quiet them. And surprisingly, it’s worked once or twice!

  4. February 28, 2011 1:30 pm

    Awww you look adorable Bryana. Happy you were able to enjoy yourself and have a good time. Your hair looks really nice too. Take care!

  5. February 28, 2011 2:27 pm

    Omg I must try that hummus soon! I love hummus in general and a sweet one must be even better!

    I love your hair, too, and I’m so glad that you were able to enjoy your weekend without ED for the most part 🙂

    I really love frozen yogurt. There’s a place near my dorm that’s self-serve and all their flavors are low fat or fat free so I don’t feel too bad about getting some occasionally. Their cups are huge, though, but it’s so worth it!

    I can’t wait to hear about your first driving experience–it’s so exciting 😀

  6. February 28, 2011 4:06 pm

    love your hair!!
    i actually haven’t had froyo either, im a newbie!

  7. February 28, 2011 6:01 pm

    Your hair looks great! I love curly hair – unfortunantely mine’s as straight as a board, lol!

    I actually really enjoy staying in hotels. My dad used to work for a hotel company, so I’ve stayed in a lot of them. I actually lived in a hotel for a few months!

    Can’t wait to hear more!

  8. February 28, 2011 6:32 pm

    Yaayy you’re back!! I’m so happy to hear you had such a great trip, such a great ed-free trip!! : D. Your hair looks absolutely adorable. I love your curls and I love how you embrace them because they are gorgeous as are you!!

    Sweet hummus sounds so good and so interesting. I’ve never thought of beans being sweet before, but I guess that does make sense because a lot of Chinese desserts have sweet bean fillings in them. The hummus looks fabulous, though! Cookie dough everyday for me please : D.

    I can’t wait to hear about the rest of your trip. Have fun driving!! : )

    • February 28, 2011 10:13 pm

      Thanks! I used to hate my hair and beg to straighten it with a flat iron every change I got. Now, I wouldn’t ever change it. 🙂

      It didn’t even occur to me about those Chinese sweet bean buns. But that is so right. Not all bean dishes are savory in other cultures.

  9. March 1, 2011 6:53 pm

    You look so beautiful and happy! I’m so glad you had a good time.

  10. March 1, 2011 7:32 pm

    what a wonderful birthday! And you look fantastic 🙂 I am glad you had such an amazing time!

    Scott

    And yes, I LOVE froyo! I work right next door to one, and let me tell you, vanilla with an espresso on top is to. die. for!

Leave a Reply

