Skip to content

Every Body is Beautiful

February 22, 2011

I was thinking about my body a lot today. I realized that during ballet, I barely pay attention to what I look like in the mirror, and I feel very little anxiety during lunch anymore. One of my close friends at dance is very naturally boney; her spine and hipbones are really visible. In the past I used to wish I were like that. I wished I could eat potato chips, Dunking Donuts Coolattas, bagels with a thick layer of cream cheese, and the jif-to-go packs plain with a spoon, and still look as boney as her.

This past Sunday,  I was looking at the both of us in the mirror and admired that I am much bigger, curvier, and muscular than she is. Honestly, I thought I looked great, and thought she looked way too skinny. With the mind frame I’m in now, I wouldn’t lose weight to look like her if you paid me!

I think what I am getting at here is that I discovered I like my body! 🙂

Sure, there are things I might alter a little if I could. But I know I can’t change a damn thing, and I will not spend any more of my life wishing I had a body I can never have. This is the only one I get, and I’m tired of hating it. I can’t change it; no amount of eating or starving will give me the body that I thought I could achieve through weight loss. No matter what I do, I will never, ever have the skinny body that seems to be expected of women, yet is nearly impossible to attain. And that is ok. My body is different than what we all see on magazines, but it is equally as gorgeous. Hey, I’ve got to spend another 80 years (hopefully :-)) in this skin, so I might as well like it, right?

I don’t have an hourglass shape, but I’m not skin and bones either. I am muscular and defined, with a curve here and there. And all of it is beautiful.

My idea to get healthier and cut out desserts from my diet started exactly 2 years ago today. I refuse to go another day hating myself and wishing I were different. The two years I just wasted are plenty, thank you very much! For the rest of my life I’ll be in this skin, and I can spend that time either loving myself, or wishing I were different. For here on out, I choose to love me. I chose to accept what I have and truly be happy with it!!!

I am finally realizing that I am beautiful!

 

To wish you were someone else is to waste the person you are. ~author unknown

Every single one of you is so special and beautiful. Please don’t ever doubt it! 🙂

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 8:40 pm

    I LOVE this post 🙂
    And your attitude
    So true! We need to learn to love ourselves no matter what body we have. Starving ourselves won’t make us happy, just sickly skinny.
    I’m so glad that you’re doing as wonderful as you are! 🙂
    ❤ Haley

  2. February 22, 2011 8:48 pm

    This is such a beautiful post, Bryana! You have just started the greatest love affair of all 🙂

    YOU are soooo gorgeous!!!!!!!!

    xxx

  3. February 22, 2011 9:14 pm

    I really needed this, so thank you! It’s so true that we need to accept ourselves as we are because if we starve ourselves to achieve “perfection”, we’ll miss out on living life to the fullest.

    You are beyond beautiful, Bryana 🙂

  4. February 22, 2011 9:31 pm

    This is such an AMAZING post, Bryana! Thank you for sharing!

    I agree withe the comment above that loving your body/yourself is the most important love affair you’ll ever have in your life. Every single body is unique…even the celebs we think have the ideal body don’t, they’re all photoshopped to look like they do. Uniqueness is what makes our figures beautiful, not fitting into society’s mold of what they have decided is beautiful. Who says they get to decide! : D.

    You ARE gorgeous girl!!

    xxx
    Sarah

    • February 24, 2011 1:56 pm

      Oh, don’t even get me started on the photoshop issue. That makes me so mad that these real women get altered so drastically. What they look like on the magazine covers are so unrealistic and practically unachieveable, yet it seems to be the standard. Society’s definition of beauty is BS, I totally agree.

      And thank you for the compliment. I think you are beautiful as well! 🙂

  5. February 22, 2011 10:21 pm

    I love you, girl! You are so right – we have to love what we’ve got. And you are absolutely beautiful. And I love that dress! (Ok, I’m done with my lovefest, lol)

    • February 24, 2011 1:57 pm

      Thanks girl! Yeah, that dress doesn’t fit so great anymore, but I’m working toward growing into it! 🙂

  6. February 22, 2011 10:23 pm

    Yay for self-acceptance ^_^”

  7. February 23, 2011 2:32 am

    YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! im SO SO SO SO HAPPY for you Bryana!!! make sure to keep this post on hand so that whenever you are doubting yourself you can go right to it and read everyone’s wonderful comments so you can stop that negative talk!! you are gorgeous!!!!

  8. Hedda permalink
    February 23, 2011 2:39 am

    An amazing post by an amazing woman! Thank you so much, this was the best way to start my day 🙂
    You are absolutely beautiful, my friend. We were born unique, both when it comes to our soul and to our bodies. It’s our responsibility to work on accepting and loving the body we have been given, the body that will carry us through life.
    Keep glowing – you are a star.

  9. February 23, 2011 4:55 am

    amazing post, and I have to admit, I’m having those same thoughts lately!
    We can’t change the body we were given, it is ours to love and respect, so we might as well do it 🙂
    And you are gorgeous!

    • February 24, 2011 2:05 pm

      Thanks for commenting Marina, and thanks for the compliment. That’s so sweet of you to say!

  10. February 23, 2011 9:27 am

    WOOO HOOO! Congratulations! That is a major step in recovery! I look at all these people with eating disorders and they are all so beautiful (including you)! Why do these gorgeous people question thier beauty when I can see the beauty they can’t!?!??! Really! You are beautiful. It is great that you now see it!

    I have kind of been coming to the same realization too! I am wasting my life on something that I can’t change. I was born with my face and body! This is it! I can’t change it! So what am I going to do with it? I have to start living my life and embracing who I am and what I have! I want to live my life to the fullest and stop wishing that I am someone else! I want to be me! This song is great: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDI2Uqxoed0.

    • February 24, 2011 2:08 pm

      Thank you Deborah!

      And it’s true, you’ve got to be you, because no one else can or will be. Thanks for the song as well, it’s so inspirational!

  11. February 23, 2011 11:38 am

    I simply LOVE hearing you say this! You ARE beautiful. we all are, and we need to remember that 🙂

    Thanks so much for posting this 🙂

    Scott

  12. February 23, 2011 7:53 pm

    This is so amazing Bryana! I can’t express how happy i am for you that you’ve reached a point of self-acceptance.
    You are so beautiful and strong.
    Thank you so much for sharing this post.

Leave a Reply

