Skip to content

Oui Oui, Croissants!

February 12, 2011

Is there some sort of prize for super cheesy titles? If so, I think I should get nominated.

That was one of the hardest things I’ve eaten in a long time, but I did  have ze croissant. In a way, I think to say “eating is hard’ is very odd. No other creature on this planet has “food issues.” It is senseless that humans of all animals should be the ones to struggle so much with eating. I could ramble on about this topic, but I’ll save it for another day. (Hello tomorrow’s rant!)

Though I know being anxious about eating is totally senseless, I still was. I’m sure the chimps in the zoo are rolling their eyes and saying, “C’mon Bryana, it’s only food. It won’t hurt you. Just eat. See, we do and we’re fine. Ugh, stupid human!” I agree, when it comes to food, all animals are 100% smarter than me. But this stupid human right here was at battle in her mind about what to do about the pastry.

I’d taken them out to defrost at 12:30. I was undecided all afternoon, but by the time they were all puffed up (they defrost, and then inflate like balloons rise)  they looked so good, and I chose to have one. I was still anxious about the fat content, but that seemed not to matter as much anymore. 5 minutes after I put them in the oven, the whole house smelled like bread and butter. Well, that’s what croissants are, huh? When they came out of the oven, I was even more certain I wanted one; they looked mouth-wateringly delicious. The directions suggested I brush them in egg wash to make them shiny. I was by no means comfortable with adding more calories just for some gloss, so I skipped that step. I’m sure I didn’t miss out though, as they were DIVINE!

This was immediately after I set them out, and I was a little skeptical. The box said “You won’t believe how much they will rise.” And at the point, I really didn’t believe they’d rise at all. I went out in the afternoon, and when I got home, I was in for a surprise.

They tripled in size in 8 hours. I forgot to take a picture right before I baked them, but this is exactly how large they were…just not browned. 🙂 The second they came out of the oven and I smelled them, all of my anxiety melted. I was excited, but not nervous or scared. My parents  took bites of theirs before I did, and both of them said they tasted fantastic. So I had high expectations when I bit into it, and it sure did not disappoint. I’ve been to Paris (twice actually) and these are as good as, if not better than any I’d had there. The man who prepares them for Trader Joe’s is French. I guess that explains it. 🙂 So if you live within driving distance of a Trader Joe’s, I highly suggest you hightail it over there this instant.

I only wish there were a tad more chocolate inside. But really, I am not complaining. It was the most buttery, flakey, chocolately dessert I’ve ever had, and I don’t regret a single bite!

 Q~

Do you like to come up with cheesy titles?

What do you think about fat?

Dietary fat was my #1 fear. I hated the thought, and I avoided oils like the plague. Oddly enough, I never cut out nut butter; I guess I love it too much. There was I time I only got 10-12g fat per day. Thankfully, I now eat much more fat, and I feel physically better because of it. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 10:33 pm

    Way to go!Those croissants sure did rise.
    I definatley still have some fears with fat, but have started to include much more into my diet
    Avocados, mayo,nutbutters are my go-to’s.

  2. February 12, 2011 11:08 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad you went for it despite the fear. I remember how tiny they were when I took them out of the package and how surprised I was when they had risen! lol. I’m glad you liked them.

    Well, most of my titles come from song lyrics, so that’s pretty cheesy right there! =)

  3. February 13, 2011 12:46 am

    🙂 I’m so proud of you! That’s such a big step to take so I hope you’re proud of yourself too! It’s great that you enjoyed the croissant. They look really yummy!
    I LOVE cheesy post titles, but I usually can’t come up with them! I love all your titles since they’re so creative.
    I’m scared of saturated fat. A lot. I limit it like crazy, and I know it’s not the best fat for you, but everyone needs some fat in their diet. I usually get my fat from nut butters, too (almond butter is my fave) and from regular soy milk. I know I need to get over my intense fear of fat, especially if it’s natural. There’s nothing wrong with a little olive oil!

  4. February 13, 2011 3:29 am

    ahah i love cheesy titles! my last post was CHEESY beyond belief!! oh my i love my healthy fats! honestly they are a huge staple in my diet and i know they are great for my body- and esp being vegan they are a huge part of my diet! they provide stable energy and keep me satisfied.. my favs are nuts, nut butters, avocados and flaxseeds!

  5. February 13, 2011 8:37 am

    The more I read your blog the more I go “ME TOO”! hahah! we are so alike! However, I have never liked croissants especially with chocolate inside. I have no clue why! As a kid I would always get so disappointed if a croissant had chocolate inside. Crazy I know! But I was the same way about fat. It was/still is my BIGGEST fear. I didn’t eat butter, yogurt, oil, etc. BUT I still ate peanut butter!

    HIGH FIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What an accomplishment!

  6. February 13, 2011 10:41 am

    That’s so great that you ate the croissant! Looks yummy 🙂
    And I’m sure that it was pretty filling, so 320 calories shouldn’t actually be ALL that scary. Yes, 18 grams of fat seems like a lot, too. But hey, we need around 70 per day, and how much fat are you getting other than this and the nut butters?
    Speaking of which, I am the BIGGEST peanut butter lover in the world. But at the height of my ED I completely gave it up. For me it wasn’t just fat but also calories. I didn’t want my meals to be over 250 cals, and so pb could definitely not be in the mix.
    I am not so bad about fat OR calories now, but I am still scared to add olive oil/butter to recipes while cooking :/ Something I need to improve on..
    Anyway, I’m so happy for your progress! Keep it up Bryana! 🙂
    ❤ Haley

Leave a Reply

