Skip to content

Vinny? Vinny Bag o’ Donuts!

February 8, 2011

Any guesses what movie my title is from?

There is a Dunkin Donuts right down the street from my dentist. My mom and I had a long-standing tradition that on our way home after the appointment, we’d go and each get a donut. How ironic is it that I’d get my teeth cleaned and then eat a deep-fried ring of sugar? I always hated the dentist, but knowing that the yummy treat was waiting for me always made the experience less horrifying better.

I had a cleaning appointment today, and what do ya know? I still hate it. Having metal tools shoved between my teeth and rammed up my gums is no fun. 😦 The last two times I’ve gone, ED didn’t want me get anything from Dunkin, so we skipped it altogether. The time before that – 1 1/2 years ago – we still made the stop, but I only got an iced coffee with a drop of skim milk; no donut for me…

This time, I wanted to get a donut just so ED could shove it up his ass (excuse my language). I couldn’t decide between my usual chocolate frosted donut, and the new chocolate frosted cocoa donut. I never liked the chocolate cake donuts and munchkins, so I was super excited to learn that they now make a chocolate yeast donut. I wasn’t sure which of them to go with, so I ended up not getting one.

But I did get two!!

The plan is to share with Mommy and eat half of each. I am terrified, and I know ED will start screaming as soon as I finish the last bite. But like I said before, I really want to prove to myself that I can do this. Don’t tell ED, but I am actually craving the donut right now. So I’m off to enjoy. Wish me luck!!!

Qs~

My post title is from My Cousin Vinny. Have you seen it?

If you’ve not seen this movie, you must go out and rent it right this instant. It is one of the funniest films I have ever seen. But just a warning, the language is pretty horrendous!

Do you like donuts?

What was the last thing ED said you couldn’t eat that you ate anyway?

A donut…I hope. 🙂

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 2:54 am

    YAY for donuts! i cant eat them becuz of the egg and milk, but those sure look good! i hope you enjoy them with your mom 😀

  2. February 9, 2011 3:21 am

    I hate dentists, too. Having had braces I am rather used to someone prodding around my mouth with metal tools. It especially sucks when you have sensitive teeth :\

    GO YOU for getting 2 donuts! It’s a great idea to share them with your mon because then you won’t be the only one eating. PLEASE, make sure you savor them and enjoy them. Don’t let ED take away this breakthrough moment for you 🙂

    I’m not actually a fan of donuts. I’ve only ever liked the ones with the fruit in the middle otherwise they were just too sweet. I prefer cakes, cookies and muffins. I’m that kinda gal 😉

    xxx

  3. February 9, 2011 4:15 am

    I’ve never really been a doughnut girl. I’m the ice-cream, sorbet, chilled desert type 🙂

    Hmm the last thing I ate that ED really didn’t want me to was yellow cheese. Normally I shy away from it, because it still scares me a little. But yesterday I just bit the bullet and ate it. And it was gooooood.

    Good luck with the doughnuts. You can do it!

  4. Inês permalink
    February 9, 2011 10:59 am

    I just loved your blog!!! I don’t know how I found it but it was so inspiring! I’m a portuguese girl with 18 and have been suffering from anorexia for the last 4 years! I am now at the “recovery process” and just started gaining some weight last week so and although I know I am still very skinny at a bmi of 15 I am very proud of the steps I’ve made and reading your blog just gave me such strenght and the will power I needed to continue! Thank you Bryanna you’re amazingm, congratulations for what you have achieved and don’t stop writting

    p.s. sorry for my english I may have made some mistakes but as I said I’m from Portugal..=)

    • February 9, 2011 11:16 am

      You are incredibly sweet Inês! It makes me so happy to learn that reading about my journey is helping you. You should be very proud of any steps you make toward recovery. Even small accomplishments are great! You deserve so much more than anorexia, so no matter what, keep fighting! If you have any questions or just want someone to talk to, you can email me anytime at rainbowfurball@optonline.net 🙂

  5. February 9, 2011 2:23 pm

    Yay for you for getting the donuts! Personally I’ve never liked donuts since they give me a sugar rush headache 😦 I really don’t like the dentist either, my mouth is always so sore after I go.
    Thanks for the comment on my post. It made my day 😀

  6. February 9, 2011 4:51 pm

    Bryana – I am so proud of you!
    What a courageous fighter you are. Eating something we fear is exhausting. The world seems to stop and all we can think about is that one thing. That extra slice of cheese. Chocolate. Pasta. Or, as in your case : donut. An intense debate takes place in our mind between you and ED. To eat or not to eat, that is the question.
    That you decided to “just” go for it and buy donuts is amazing. When you eat it think of the symbolic meaning of your actions. Every piece of it represent health. It is a clear statement that you are fed up with being deprived and punished, because your heart knows that you deserve a good life.

    ED told me to restrict on my evening snack, since I’ve eaten more calories in one day than… a long time. I told it to shut the **** up and ate more chocolate than usual.

    Take care, beautiful one. Know that I’m very proud of you and that you are an inspiration.

    • February 9, 2011 6:02 pm

      Thank you so much Hedda. It means very much for you to tell me I am an inspiration! You are so kind and caring and beautiful! 🙂

  7. February 9, 2011 5:58 pm

    Yay! I hope you enjoyed the donuts! Sounds good.
    Today I ate some macaroni salad made with mayonnaise, olives, pasta…that my ED did not like – but I DID!

    • February 9, 2011 6:00 pm

      Whoo! Good for you. I definitely believe ED didn’t like it, and and I’m happy to hear you kicked his butt!

  8. February 9, 2011 8:39 pm

    Good for you getting the donuts! I’m glad you kicked ED’s ass(:

Leave a Reply

