Skip to content

Steps In the Right Direction

February 6, 2011

Confession: I spend waaaaay too much time blogging. I think I’d go through withdrawal if someone took away either my computer or my ipod touch (gotta love wi-fi). I seriously need to spend time doing something else. Blogging makes me really happy, but I’m not a fan of staying up until midnight while typing a post or reading yours.

I am making a huge effort to not take more than a half hour to type this. I’ll try to keep it short less long. Shorties unite, right L? 🙂

It’s 8:05 now. Do you think I can do it?

These past two days have been rather…strange. There was a huge storm going on last night, so that might have had something to do with it.

First of all, I ate candy, and it was good! After finishing my usual post-dinner snackie, I wasn’t full, but I wasn’t hungry. As I was washing my plate, I started craving chocolate. This was no innocent little craving either. This was like someone had smacked me over the head and screamed at me to eat a Hershey’s Kiss. So I did. I also ate a mini York peppermint patty, for good measure of course.

Both my Kiss and my patty were dark chocolate. In my opinion, dark is far superior to milk. Uh-huh Sarah, I see you! 🙂

I ate my chocolate, which totally hit the spot, and then went back to my room to finish blogging. About 1/2 hour later, I felt it. The hunger was slowly creeping back up into my stomach. As odd as it felt, I wasn’t surprised, because I had danced for 4 1/2 hours and both lunch and dinner were slightly lacking. So, I went back downstairs and grabbed a palmful of edamame and three dried figs. I ate them up without so much as a thought about weighing them.

I did it! I ate high calorie food (those figs are sugar bombs!) without measuring them. I didn’t feel even a smidge guilty about it.  I just felt happy. I think that’s what intuitive eating is, right? If that is what I did, then I am very proud of myself.

I am sad to say this, but today I lost my craving for savory oatmeal. I hope it will come back, because I really enjoyed eating it. For dinner I was craving yogurt. I debated for a good 10 minutes whether I should have the oats anyway, or to listen to my body. I went with the yogurt. I guess I need the protein to rebuild my leg muscles. 😉 I got my eyebrows threaded at 5:30, so I ate one yogurt mess before, and one after.

Berries are not in season, but for some reason, they’re available at most supermarkets and taste really great. This mess was my chobani + cinnamon + truvia, 1/2 banana, 1 tbs raisins, 1/4 cup kashi go lean, strawberries, and cherries.

At the worst of my ED, oatmeal was one of the only foods I was mentally comfortable with and could physically stomach. Though it feels so strange to crave yogurt over oats, I realize that I  just listened to my body rather than ED, and that’s a pretty big step. I feel great about it, and can’t wait to do it again. Honestly, I am quite proud of myself at the moment!

Ok, so it’s 8:44. Writing this took 40 minutes, rather than 30. That’s not too bad; I can live with it. 🙂

Qs-

Do you like chocolate + peppermint?

My favorites have to be York patties or Girl Scout Thin Mints.

Have you ever gotten anything threaded?

I’ve only ever had threading done. Waxing really scares me.

What was the last craving you listened to?

Yogurt, mmmmmm!!!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    February 6, 2011 9:26 pm

    Yaayy for eating chocolate! And hey, if you crave dark chocolate that just means more milk chocolate for me, right!? ; p. You deserve treats when you crave them. Ed thinks he has a say in that but he absolutely does NOT. I’m proud of you for listening to your body!

    Wow, that is quite the yummy looking yogurt mess! I love berries sooo much. Blueberries have been super good around here lately.

    Keep fighting, girl!!

  2. February 7, 2011 3:16 am

    Gotta agree with Sarah about the milk chocolate. Although I do randomly get dark chocolate cravings and I’m all like “WTF?!” But I know that when I’m craving dark chocolate it’s because I’m low in iron. Weird right?

    WELL DONE for listening to your cravings! It takes a lot of mental strength to do that but sometimes when you are craving something out of the norm you really have to put yourself out of your comfort zone and explore your options. If you don’t like it, just don’t have it again, right? So proud of you!!

    I’m not a huge fan of peppermint but I do love chocolate cookies with mint cream in them. I don’t know why :\ The last craving I listened to was 5 minutes ago. It involved a banana muffin and chocolate spread. mmm 🙂

    xxx

  3. February 7, 2011 2:19 pm

    I love dark chocolate and peppermint too! I usually have it in Clif bar form–the Cool Mint Chocolate bar is soooooo good haha! I also could not live without my iPod touch and I love being a shortie too…I’m only 5’1 so I’m super short 😉 I’m so inspired by you, for listening to your body and respecting the cravings. I definitely need to do that more!

    • February 7, 2011 8:37 pm

      Ash, I love the chocolate mint clif. It’s my second favorite after the black cherry almond. The chocolate peppermint stick lunas are amazing too!
      I have a friend whose 16 years old and 5’11. She loves being that tall, but I wouldn’t want to grow an inch!

      That is so flattering and incredibly sweet of you to say I’m inspiring. Thank you so much!!! 🙂

  4. February 7, 2011 3:43 pm

    I had a craving for chocolate , and all that was in the house was semisweet chocochips. & I ended up having omse — yum!
    Im trying to challenge myself with chocolate, and have some everday. Cause it tastes so good,a nd good for you 🙂
    Iv never had anythigng threaded :/ is it painful?

    • February 7, 2011 8:48 pm

      Laura, yes, chocolate it AMAZING!
      Other than being nutritionally healthy, dark chocolate has serotonin, which can work as an anti-depressant. It also causes your brain to release endorphins, which makes you feel pleasure. I guess that explains why eating it makes me so happy!

      Here’s the wikipedia page about threading: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Threading_(epilation).
      I personally don’t think it is that painful, and the results I get on my eyebros are practically perfect every time! 🙂

  5. February 7, 2011 4:13 pm

    Good for you for listening to your body!
    And dark chocolate is far superior to milk chocolate. Way to go for having some!
    Keep responding to your cravings, it must feel so good(:

  6. Hedda permalink
    February 7, 2011 4:49 pm

    😀 Two thumbs up and a huge hug for listening to your body!
    That takes courage, and is a HUGE sign of progress. Just being able to hear what our bodies are telling us shows that ED no longer numbs you. And the fact that you also respected and honored your body by nourishing it … awesome! Keep doing that and your body will build up its trust to you once again 🙂

    Chocolate and peppermint is good, though you’re speaking with someone who likes everything with chocolate, haha. I love the combination of chocolate and roasted almonds… ohh, makes life a little better ^^
    Nothing threaded, but waxed. Ouch. Never ever again.
    Last craving? Almond butter, and yes – listened to 🙂 It makes me sleep like a sweet baby.

    • February 7, 2011 8:31 pm

      Oh my goodness, chocolate covered almonds are divine!!!

      As for the waxing, “ouch” is exactly what I’ve heard about it. Threading is pretty quick and inexpensive. A gorgeous young lady I know does my eyebrows perfectly each time.

      Good for you for eating that almond buttah! I love when food tastes that good and is good for you!! 🙂

  7. February 7, 2011 7:54 pm

    I’m proud of you for c0ntinuing to eat and listen to your body even though you had already had your normally scheduled meals. I know that’s hard. Sometimes I get angry with myself (my stomach) that it wants food cuz I’m like, I just fed you!
    But the body wants what it wants for a reason, so it’s great that we’re fueling it and making ourselves stronger by eating rather than starving ourselves. 🙂
    Also, I LOVE yogurt! What kind did you have? I love greek yogurt+fiberone cereal+honey and berries.
    I also love the Kashi blueberry waffles with greek yogurt and black or blueberry jam on top. Yumm. That was part of my breakfast this morning 🙂

    Also, dark chocolate is really good!
    And I don’t know what ‘threading’ is.. I have had my eyebrows waxed, but now I just pluck them. I’m an expert. All of my friends ask me to do theirs. haha

    Thank you for the encouraging comments on my blog! You are so sweet 🙂 And you seem to be doing so well! Sorry I haven’t commented yet. I’ve been reading, just busy!
    Oh, and I alwayyys spend more time blogging/commenting than I mean to. ha.
    Forty minutes is good for this long of a post 🙂
    Have a good night! Sorry I wrote so much!
    ❤ Haley

    • February 7, 2011 8:25 pm

      Hey Haley.
      My heart belongs to Chobani greek yogurt. It’s the only kind I eat. I love it with Kashi GoLean cereal (my favorite kind ever) bananas, raisins, cherries, and strawberries.
      Waxing scares me, and I have heard that it can be very inaccurate; if the wax is put on wrong, the whole eyebrow gets messed up. Heres what wiki says about threading: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Threading_(epilation). I personally don’t think it hurts that badly.

      I love your blog, and you seem so sweet too! And thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

