Skip to content

Phew, Dodged a Bullet!

January 25, 2011

Since last Tuesday’s little psychiatry appointment, I haven’t been allowed to take a single ballet class, and I’m going INSANE! The Doc suggested I stop dancing to gain weight more easily.  My paranoid parents really took that to heart. Interestingly  enough, my regular doctor, who is just as trained in ED’s as he is, never once told me to take time off, even when I was at my lowest weight in winter ’09. I guess she knows how much it means to me, and I am so grateful for it.

The main concerns for mis padres about letting me dance were that I would lose even more weight (Yeah…last time I got weighed I had lost :-() and worsen the possible osteopenia I could have developed. I have spent way too much energy arguing – and crying – about why I should absolutely, without a doubt, need to go to class.

Same Italian savory oats as yesterday. I tweaked the amount of water and made them thicker. Yup, that fixed it; it was so much better this way. I topped it with marinara sauce, parmesan cheese, and basil. I took the picture pre-toppings because I wanted to capture the beautiful colors of the veggies. And is it just me, or do the colors on the bowl make the dish look even brighter?

Well, tomorrow is a 3:45 appointment to get weighed and stethoscoped. I am really certain – dare I say, foolishly hopeful? – that I have gained, and so tomorrow I can get it confirmed. I know that will reassure my parents. Then it will be more likely that I can take class Thursday.

But, the real news is that I got the lab results for my bone density scan. It came back…normal. For my almost 16-year-old self, my bones are properly dense. “EXPECTED BONE DENSITY FOR CHRONOLOGICAL AGE.” See?

 

Phew!!!

 

Obviously, I am thrilled. My mom calls me very, very lucky. I prefer to call my body resilient. 🙂 But I do acknowledge that when it comes to my bones, I just dodged a major bullet.

No osteopenia for me! 🙂

 

I’ll keep eating ’till my period comes back. No ifs, ands, or butts buts! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist that). I know my parents are so much more relaxed now that we know these results. I’m pretty sure that means I can finally take a ballet class again, after a week and a half. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Be back mañana to let you know about the weight status. I also want to bring up something about scale usage, both during an ED, and while recovering from one. But it’s getting late and this is getting long, so I’ll save it for tomorrow.

Good night! 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 9:25 am

    I’m so happy the bone density scan came back fine. I’ve never experienced any really negative medical consequences of having an ED (my ultra- delicate digestion is bad enough) but I imagine how terrifying the prospect must have been for you. So I’m really happy everything is ok.

    Hope the ballet class works out and thank you SO MUCH for commenting on my last post. You have no idea how much the support meant to me.

    • BecomingBryana permalink*
      January 26, 2011 9:46 am

      Oh, I’m so happy! After I posted it, I felt like a total dork for leaving you more of a novel than a comment. 🙂

  2. January 26, 2011 5:39 pm

    I’m so glad it came back okay! I didn’t have one of those yet.. But remember your health comes first. I wanted to go out and exercise too because I really loved it, but it was getting in the way of my health, so I had to stop. My physical therapist said that this would be a perfect opportunity to find new things I like, so you should too!(: Healthy things. I really like pilates and hula hooping. They don’t even really feel like exercise either.

  3. dmcgirl37 permalink
    January 26, 2011 6:53 pm

    Good for you for eating till your period comes back =) i know its hard!! I lost mine for years and just recently got it back a few months ago! yay =) i cried a bunch i was so happy

    Dana xoxo
    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

Leave a Reply

