Skip to content

It’s Good to Try New Things

January 23, 2011

Since I am a professional procrastinator and have a ton of other things to get done tonight, this post is going to be short. Like me. I’m 5’3″. I’m a shorty 🙂

I made a trip to Rite Aid and the green grocer with mi madre today. My schoolwork is online, which means I sit in a chair in front of the computer for hours a day. It kills my back. It’s not muscle soreness, but it’s fatigue that feels like my whole back will just break apart. Thus, we zipped on over to Rite Aid for this:

So darn comfy!

 

Most “As Seen on T.V.” products are a little shady, and I was skeptical at first, but after reading some great reviews, I went and got one as a lumbar support. I lurve it already!

Then came the green grocers, where I got some great loot. First up, some Ponzu Sauce. It is Japanese, basically a citrus infused soy sauce. I happen to adore soy sauce, and this takes it to a whole new level.

Sweet and salty and perfect.

 

Now what did I need this citrus soy sauce for you ask? Why, for my lunch of Asian inspired savory oatmeal.

Creamy, crunchy, salty, and sweet, consisting of: 3/4 cup rolled oats, 3 sautéed shiitake mushrooms, 1 sliced scallion, 1 tablespoon ponzu sauce, and an egg. I usually shy away from egg yolks (because of the flavor, not the fat) and have never eaten a whole sunny side up egg before. Though I will probably not eat another whole egg for a very long time, it worked well in this recipe.

 

This was my first savory oatmeal experience because I choose sweet versions of food 99% of the time. It was pretty delicious as it was, but the recipe could use a little tweaking to make it even better. On the side, I enjoyed another new food. After reading post after post by Tatianna about date molasses, I figured I had to get me some. So I kept my eye out. Lo and behold, I spotted it at the green grocers right next to the honey.

The brand is Oxygen, so the slogan is: O2, It’s What You Need 2 Live. I thought that was very cute and clever.

 

With my oats, I served myself a container of chobani + truvia, drizzled with a tablespoon and a half of the date molasses and a tablespoon of creamy almond butter. T’was absolutely divine!

Has anyone ever had edamame before? I have had soynuts, and was curious to compare the two. So when I saw them in the store as well, I snatched ’em right up.

The stats for these are incredible! 8 grams of fiber and 14 grams of protein in a teenie-tiny 1/4 cup.

 

I though they were yummy. The little beanies were super crunchy, with a very mild flavor. I mixed them up with some raisins for part of my post-dinner snack.

Pre-ED, trying new food was something I always seized the chance to do. When I was very deep in my ED haze, trying new food became the ultimate nightmare. I am very happy to say that I was able to do that again, to eat 4 new things in one day and try a new recipe, (my sweet tooth is pissed that I wasted an oatmeal experience on something salty). Lately, trying new things has not been an issue, but I usually stick to one per day. I surprised myself by stepping out of my comfort zone so many times today. I’m even more surprised that I feel good about it. I know that before my eating disorder, I loved to discover new cultures and new experiences through food. Though it was a small step in this overall journey, I do feel really accomplished right now!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 5:37 am

    Go you for trying new things! I’ve come to the realisation that if I don’t try what I want to try, I will be thinking about it all the time until I eventually try it. Those oats look amazing by the way! As do all of your oats. They look so incredibly creamy! I wish mine looked like that 😛 I’ve always wanted to try date syrup since seeing it on Tat’s blog, too. I wish I could find it 😦

    xxx

  2. January 24, 2011 3:29 pm

    I totally agree with you 100% about trying new things.
    Your savory oats DO look good. I tried them once and I wasn’t blown away. At least I discovered something I’m not too keen on.

    I’m a shorty as well (5’4). Shorties rock! 😛

Leave a Reply

